Lightning killed ecm blower, psc conversion

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-16-18, 02:58 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lightning killed ecm blower, psc conversion

I'm new here but I'm in serious need of some help. I have a Goodman unit that lightning killed the broad ocean blower yesterday. I have been reading that there is a way to ditch the chinese ecm blower and convert to a quality psc and costs less too. My house will be 100 degrees in a matter of hours and I need it up and running. From my understanding all I need is a 1/2 HP psc blower and capacitor, install it in the cage and run the common and speed wire to t1 and t2 on the contactor. My question is that since the condenser fan and compressor are also on t1 and t2 will that cause an over load condition? My unit is only a year old but my warranty doesn't cover lightning damage and I have no homeowners insurance because of a porch that doesn't yet meet their requirements. Can anyone help?
 
  #2  
Old 07-16-18, 03:20 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm posting a picture of the wiring diagram.
 

Last edited by CFARLEY; 07-16-18 at 03:25 AM. Reason: Wrong link
  #3  
Old 07-16-18, 03:23 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #4  
Old 07-16-18, 06:38 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,006
Received 89 Votes on 84 Posts
Hi, that is the condenser fan motor, is that what you are trying to replace? What are the specs on that motor?
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 07-16-18, 09:07 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The blower fan for the vents is what I'm trying to replace
 
  #6  
Old 07-16-18, 09:15 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,006
Received 89 Votes on 84 Posts
OK, thatís not shown on that drawing, my understanding of the ECM is that they are a variable speed motor and probably controlled from a control board, do you have a pic of that air handler unit wiring?
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 07-16-18, 10:25 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is a package unit, the air handler diagram is in the lower left of the picture. The only control board is in the bell on the back of the motor and at no point is the internal ecm shown in a diagram as the motor is non-serviceable
 
  #8  
Old 07-16-18, 10:41 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,006
Received 89 Votes on 84 Posts
Hi, if you are saying that the ECM is that circle in the bottom left of the drawing, it looks like the thermostat has some control functions there, I am not familiar with these motors but I would say that a regular PSC motor will not work, one of the other guys here will have to check in here , one thought might be is to pull then end off that motor and see if there is any obvious damage that could be repaired.
Geo
,
 
  #9  
Old 07-16-18, 11:35 AM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 2,106
Received 45 Votes on 39 Posts
You can replace it with a regular motor if it's the x-13 type.

Need a relay to switch the motor on based on 24v signal.

There's also a drop in ecm call the mars azure which has a replaceable surge protector and is cheaper.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: