A/C does not work suddently

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-21-18, 08:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 111
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C does not work suddently

My A/C does not work this morning and only heard room blow works without any cool air. Go to outside and find my TRANE XB 80 compressor and OD fan don't work at all. Need help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-21-18, 08:32 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,729
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
Did you check the circuit breaker that controls the condenser ?
Your next step is to check for power at the condenser disconnect.
If your air handler is in a ceiling, attic or closet...... it may have a float switch detecting high condensate water levels.
 
  #3  
Old 07-21-18, 10:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 111
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
outside is XB1000, at the attic is XB80 to blow air. (1) No water is over high water level, actually, there is no any water in container under XB80. (2) I have tried to switch power circuit break OFF and ON. (3) Go to outside control box with XB1000, the contact is active to close, but compressor does not work. No matter I shut off or ON circuit break, the contact always is close as long as i switch thermo-state on COOL.
 
  #4  
Old 07-21-18, 10:58 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,470
Received 11 Votes on 8 Posts
If you have a voltmeter, check for 24VAC across the contactor coil when the thermostat calls for cooling. You can turn off the power to the outside unit when doing this, as the 24VAC comes from the thermostat.
 
  #5  
Old 07-21-18, 11:09 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,729
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
the contact always is close as long as i switch thermo-state on COOL.
That means the problem is in the 240vac supply. Check and see if there are fuses in the safety switch. One may have blown.
 
  #6  
Old 07-24-18, 02:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 111
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1. YES. You are correct. There is no 240v supply after measure out unit inlet. One fuse in Outdoor disconnect fuse box is broken, replace the fuse. Exhaust (cooling) fan is working, but no cold air. Then, I checked capacitor, its cap pop up, and replace the capacitor, now it is working well. Thanks.
2. I do have dual A/C, one is XB1000, which has fixed under your helps. Another one is XE1000 (w/ heat pump). I want order capacitor for XE1000, too. Check Train part list, there are two capacitors in the list, one is called start capacitor CPT00091 w/resistor (135/155uf), only has two poles. Another is CPT00690 dual w/resistor, have 3 poles (5/20uf). Which one is for A/C? Open the unit, I only found the capacitor w/3 poles, is this 5/20uf enough to operate A/C and fan? Or I should find another one (135/155uf)? Where does it locate. Help. Are there two capacitors in the unit or one? (this one is heat pump)
3. Also, google CPT00091 and found the supply. But google CPT00690, I can't find supply.

Thanks
 
  #7  
Old 07-24-18, 04:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,729
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
If your unit had two capacitors they would be right next to each other.
If you only see one dual cap.... that may be all there is.
 
  #8  
Old 07-27-18, 02:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 111
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
it looks like it. Thanks. If the capacitor satisfy uf range and voltage, it would be OK?
 
  #9  
Old 07-28-18, 10:09 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,729
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
If you are wanting to buy a replacement..... match the existing capacitor.
The uf ratings need to match. The voltage can be higher.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: