Goodman airhandler


  #1  
Old 10-20-18, 08:16 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Goodman airhandler

Hello I'm new here and I need some help of where do I connect the power 240 volt from the breaker box
MY unit is a Goodman heat pump with a heat strip
Model : GSZ160241BB

Name:  IMG_6936.jpg
Views: 2315
Size:  96.1 KB

Name:  d.jpg
Views: 5562
Size:  76.6 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 10-21-18 at 10:46 AM. Reason: added labeled pic
  #2  
Old 10-21-18, 11:05 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,393
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
L1, L2 and ground should connect where circled.
Be sure to use the proper sized copper wiring.
 
  #3  
Old 10-21-18, 06:57 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the reply but my Air Handler don't have the PLF or the PLM like on the diagram where it show the L1 and L2.Can I just plug into the Transformer where it show 1 and 3.Thank you
 
  #4  
Old 10-21-18, 09:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,393
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
There should be a very specific place to connect the line wiring.

Do you have one large line to feed the air handler and heat strip or two separate circuits ?
Post a pic or two of the air handler wiring area.
 
  #5  
Old 10-21-18, 10:56 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
the only thing that i have is a braker for the heat strip.I connect the power there and the air handler when you turn the thermostat to cool the air handler don't start,the outside unit will go on but not the airhandler,another thing is you turn the heat on you can smell the heat coming from the airhandler but the blower is not coming on.This whole unit is brand new.The transformer has some female plug that are cover by plastic with no wire going into then,that is why that I ask that maybe that is where the power will go.If you follow on the diagram from L1 and L2 that is where is showing that they go.
 
  #6  
Old 10-22-18, 09:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,393
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
Sorry..... I'm going to need pictures. Every air handler I've installed has lugs for the incoming power line.
 
  #7  
Old 10-23-18, 09:25 PM
5
Member
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 110
Received 19 Upvotes on 18 Posts
Since the electric heat kit is field installed, it sounds like you haven't connected the air handler to the heat kit via the plugs shown below. You may have to remove a plug/cap from the air handler side. PLM and PLF are just the nomenclature for male plug and female plug respectively. They do not look like what's shown in the wiring diagram. You should be ok if you have 230 volts at the circuit breaker on the heat kit. Hope it is as simple as that.

Name:  HKP.jpg
Views: 1091
Size:  15.4 KB
 
  #8  
Old 10-23-18, 09:52 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I do have the 9 pin plug connected from the heating element to the airhandler.the power wire from electrical box is hook to the braker in the airhandler that belong to the heating element.
 
  #9  
Old 10-24-18, 07:49 AM
5
Member
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 110
Received 19 Upvotes on 18 Posts
What is the model # of your thermostat. Have you programmed it for heat pump operation?
 
  #10  
Old 10-26-18, 05:32 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can someone please help.It has been more than a week and still don't know where the power go. You can see on the picture of the airhandler where I have the power connected to the heat strip braker.I also post some of the pictures of thermostat on how I have it wire.Can somebody take a look and tell me is the wires are on the right place.Thank you
 
Attached Images     
  #11  
Old 10-26-18, 05:48 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,183
Received 199 Upvotes on 181 Posts
The aux heat wire is in the wrong spot. Should be jumped to E.
What’s the yellow wire nut with the red wires?
Who’s going to do system start up and charging? Maybe they can assist you with the wiring.
 
  #12  
Old 10-26-18, 07:13 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
the yellow wire nut with the red wire.I'm the one that did that it is the only way that I can get the blower in the airhandler to work that is the way that I'm supplying power to the transformer it is going to leg 1 and 3 leg wish it is on the diagram showing for 240 volts.it runs like that.I was just testing but I know that is not the way that it should stay.Thanks for your reply and help
 
  #13  
Old 10-26-18, 07:16 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,183
Received 199 Upvotes on 181 Posts
Where is the factory plug that gets removed when you install electric heat? You remove that and it gets connected to the electric heat pack.
 
  #14  
Old 10-26-18, 07:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,393
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
You attached your incoming supply wires to the top of the breaker. That looks correct.
What is the amperage on that breaker ?

It looks like that air handler requires two circuits. One for the strips and one for the blower.

Can you post a tight picture of just the breaker and contactor.
 
  #15  
Old 10-26-18, 07:20 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I will get better pictures tomorrow.I'm not at the house tonight .Thank you for the reply
 
  #16  
Old 10-26-18, 07:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,393
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
I was looking at the installation manual. I think this is the right diagram. It looks like your two black wires from the heat strip go to the breaker as well as the red and black ones that feed the air handler.

Name:  ah.JPG
Views: 1211
Size:  41.0 KB
 
  #17  
Old 10-26-18, 07:54 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Right now if I feed the transformer with the black on leg 1 and the red on leg 3 it works fine(leg transformer is 208 volt not used)I just not sure if that is the way that can state.I think that the heating strip braker is 50 Amp.I can run an extra breker for the transformer not sure that that is the way but it does work that way.Thank you for all the help.The Diagram wires look good
 
  #18  
Old 10-26-18, 08:06 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,183
Received 199 Upvotes on 181 Posts
Who’s doing refrigeration side work on this unit? Is it done yet?
 
  #19  
Old 10-27-18, 01:13 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
that part is done.the unit came pre charge
 
  #20  
Old 10-27-18, 04:21 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,183
Received 199 Upvotes on 181 Posts
No, that’s incorrect. It’s a split system, the refrigeration work is done in the field.
Take a picture showing the entire air handler.
I hope you didn’t connect the lines and open the valves.......you’ll destroy the unit.
 
  #21  
Old 10-27-18, 07:11 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sorry for the late reply.I had a friend that finish charging the system,if i'm not mistaking i think he also used a vacuum pump before he open the line.Thank you for the advise.
 
  #22  
Old 10-27-18, 09:15 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,183
Received 199 Upvotes on 181 Posts
I certainly hope he knew what he was doing.
And with no blower running, he couldn’t have finalize the charge.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: