Line to PTAC Unit

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-09-18, 07:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 10
Line to PTAC Unit

Good Morning,

Retired Building Contractor with minimal electrical knowledge with a question!

I'm installing a 9000 btu Amana Air/Heat Pump (through-wall) unit and need some confirmation or advice on the Breaker, Wire, and Receptacle.

The PTAC unit is rated for 230/208 volts, volt range 197 to 253, Max Overcurrent Device is rated at 15 amps. It has a permanent cord rated at 15amps 240Vac.

What I have already installed: 15amp breaker in the panel box, 10/2 wire running to the unit, and purchased a Hubbell single receptacle rated at 20amps 250v w/ horizontal blades and ground.

What I need to know is, do I use the white wire also as a hot, since the receptacle has two brass screws? If so, in the panel box can I attach the white wire to the other side of the screw opposite the black wire on the 15amp breaker, or should I replace it with a 2 pole 15amp breaker?

Or, does anyone suggest another option?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-09-18, 08:45 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,659
stop stop stop! Please use a double pole breaker!!!!
 
  #3  
Old 11-09-18, 10:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 10
Okay, no problem I can do that. Do you see any other problems with my questions, or do you have any other suggestions? In other words am I good to go after switching out the single pole breaker for a double pole breaker?
 
  #4  
Old 11-09-18, 10:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 775
I’m not quite sure what your attempting but your getting ready to cause an electrical fire.
You have a 208-230V unit. You need a double pole breaker.
 
  #5  
Old 11-09-18, 12:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 10
Okay, so I switch out the single pole 15 amp breaker to a double pole 15 amp breaker, and everything else I described is good to go?
 
  #6  
Old 11-09-18, 01:39 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,659
Same two wires going to the breaker must go to each hot side of the receptacle
 
  #7  
Old 11-09-18, 02:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 10
Okay Great, that helps thanks!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes