A/C cooling doesn't work


  #1  
Old 03-27-19, 01:20 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C cooling doesn't work

When set up cooling, the outside unit works for a minute, when working, outside unit voltage is connected around 240v, once stops, no 24voltage come outside, check circuit breaker is good. Check honeywell hz311 control panel, cool on light flashing, furnace still working. I believe outside unit is good, look at the manual of hz311 control panel, cool on flashing means low temperature met, which is not in this case. Something is wrong where to look for need advice ?
 

Last edited by Ryansh09; 03-27-19 at 02:48 PM.
  #2  
Old 03-27-19, 01:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,045
Received 2,949 Votes on 2,662 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I moved your thread to the A/C forum.

It sounds like you are low on refrigerant.
You checked and measured 240vAC to the condenser.
Now you need to find where the thermostat wiring connects to the condenser and check it for 24vAC. The splice is most likely inside the wiring area behind the wiring access cover where the AC connects. You can turn off the 240v to the condenser when checking for the 24vAC

If you can confirm 24vAC to the unit.... you are low on refrigerant.
 
  #3  
Old 03-27-19, 01:45 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am sure is not low on refrigerant

I am very sure it is not low on refrigerant. Because there's no 24voltage on outside unit once stops. 240v still there. And the furnace still working. Control board didn't send power once outside unit stop.
​​​when outside unit working, it cooling. There was no noise no ice, no leaks on the unit.
 

Last edited by Ryansh09; 03-27-19 at 02:41 PM. Reason: No 24 to the unit
  #4  
Old 03-27-19, 07:35 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,370
Received 152 Votes on 144 Posts
Sounds like it’s low on refrigerant.
The board in the furnace has nothing to do with cooling operation. High voltage will remain on the line side of the contactor all the time.
 
  #5  
Old 03-27-19, 08:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,045
Received 2,949 Votes on 2,662 Posts
Because there's no 24voltage on outside unit once stops.
Ok.....for us to help you..... you need to be specific.
No 24v where outside ? Where it enters the unit or at the contactor ?

I gave you a specific test procedure to determine whether or not you are low on refrigerant. I need you to check the two wires coming from inside to the condenser where it connects to the condenser...... NOT at the contactor. There is a low pressure switch inside the unit that this method will test.
 
  #6  
Old 03-28-19, 11:17 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Furnace return air sensor

I disconnected return air sensor from furnace once started AC, it kept running and cooling down the room, which seems like return air sensor dat or damper issue.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: