Air handler does not turn on.

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-04-19, 07:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Air handler does not turn on.

Air handler does not turn on.

The air handler fan is not spinning, last time the technician just changed this capacitor, so this time I had the same one and I changed it, but fan still doesn't turn on.
when I turn the AC on, I do have cold air coming but very low, and air handler fan is not spinning, also it get hot if I let it ON for few min.

attached is the new capacitor image but I think that i may have wrong connections.

Name:  c1.jpg
Views: 104
Size:  49.2 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-06-19 at 11:09 AM. Reason: resized picture
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-04-19, 02:10 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,462
Likes Received: 8
Typically, a capacitor used with a PSC blower motor only has 2 terminals used. Unfortunately, the capacitor hold down strap is covering up the capacitor markings. It's very possible that you have the capacitor wired incorrectly. Did you take a picture of the old capacitor & wiring before you replaced it?
 
  #3  
Old 05-04-19, 10:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,954
Likes Received: 155
That's not the air handler you're working on. That's the condenser. The air handler is inside unless that is a packaged unit.

Is the contactor closing ?
Is the compressor running ?
 
  #4  
Old 05-05-19, 07:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Hi,
Thanks for your replies.
Compressor working fine, I can feel the cooling coming out of the vents inside house. but since the outside unit fan wasn't running it is getting very hot.

Yes this is condenser.
I had to call the tech and his diagnoses is that the fan motor is gone.
Quoted me $500 ($350 for the motor and $150 labor)
I looked up and found the motor for $60, changing process seems easy to me.
Picking up motor tomorrow and will post the result.

Thanks for your help once again.
 
  #5  
Old 05-06-19, 08:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 10
so to update more on that.
I have the replacement part which I ordered and replaced.
https://www.grainger.com/product/DAY...an-Motor-4M205
this fan motor comes with required accessory which is a capacitor
https://www.grainger.com/product/DAY...apacitor-2MDV4

my old motor looks like following
Name:  m1.jpg
Views: 81
Size:  33.7 KB

the new motor is this
Name:  m2.jpg
Views: 81
Size:  50.0 KB

as you can see there are more wires in the new motor, the assembled motor is the new one, old motor is detached.
Name:  m3.jpg
Views: 81
Size:  38.7 KB

Name:  m4.jpg
Views: 79
Size:  64.8 KB

my old wiring looks like this
Name:  m5.jpg
Views: 80
Size:  83.0 KB

Name:  m6.jpg
Views: 81
Size:  84.6 KB

and there is also a new required capacitor in the middle too, which I am not sure how to connect.
Name:  m7.jpg
Views: 80
Size:  26.6 KB


I would really appreciate if someone here can help me out to make connections here.

Thanks,
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-06-19 at 11:24 AM. Reason: resized pictures
  #6  
Old 05-06-19, 08:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,160
Likes Received: 18
The white and black are line power.
Brown and brown/white are to the independent capacitor.
The others are to change the rotation direction.
What size is the existing duel capacitor?
 
  #7  
Old 05-06-19, 09:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Thank you.

The existing duel capacitor is "Round Motor Dual Run Capacitor,60/7.5 Microfarad Rating,370VAC Voltage"
https://www.grainger.com/product/DAY...apacitor-2MEG1

do I need to add the smaller capacitor as well? or no need for it?
 
  #8  
Old 05-06-19, 09:14 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,160
Likes Received: 18
You could use it if you bought the correct size duel capacitor.
But it’s easiest to just use the one that came with the motor.
 
  #9  
Old 05-06-19, 09:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 10
so where do I need to connect the line power, is that right what I am trying to show in the image?
Brown I currently connected to FAN on dual capacitor. not sure where the brown/white would go.
Name:  new-wiring-2.jpg
Views: 82
Size:  19.7 KB
 
Attached Images  
  #10  
Old 05-06-19, 09:19 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,160
Likes Received: 18
Your going to abandon the old capacitor, as far as the condenser fan goes. The compressor wires will still attach there as they are now.
 
  #11  
Old 05-06-19, 11:27 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,954
Likes Received: 155
Old motor black goes to new motor black.
Old motor purple goes to new motor white.
You won't need the old motor brown wire.

Your new capacitor connects to white/brown and brown on the new motor.
 
  #12  
Old 05-06-19, 01:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Name:  new-wiring-3.jpg
Views: 76
Size:  22.7 KB
it's that looks good


Name:  IMG_20190506_165349.jpg
Views: 75
Size:  3.14 MB
the brown & white/brown connect to the new capacitor, regardless to the corner.
the new small capacitor doesn't have marking, so brown can goto any end and brown/white would go to the other end?
 
  #13  
Old 05-06-19, 02:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,954
Likes Received: 155
Main wiring looks good. The caps are AC so there is no connection polarity.
 
  #14  
Old 05-06-19, 03:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Pjmax and roughneck77, you guys are really life saver.

Thank you so much.

It's all working now. Much appreciate your help.

Good bless you guys
 
  #15  
Old 05-06-19, 03:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,954
Likes Received: 155
Glad to be of service. Thanks for letting us now how you made out.
 
  #16  
Old 06-20-19, 11:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 10
After running fine for a month or so, its blowing normal air inside and cool air outside.
outside cool air is not air conditioned air, but in the past it used to be warm air outside, its kind of cool today.

Inside I feel like its just normal air inside not air conditioned cool air. temperature is not dropping.
Is there possibly bad capacitor or bad connection?
 
  #17  
Old 06-20-19, 01:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,954
Likes Received: 155
So we can assume the condenser fan is working...... correct ?
That would leave a compressor problem. Can you hear the compressor running ?

You changed the cap...... was the value for the compressor the correct one ?
 
shyboy liked this post.
  #18  
Old 06-20-19, 01:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 10
yes condenser fan is running fine.

When I opened the panel it looks like the yellow compressor wire was melted.

I connect the hook and put the wire back on the capacitor, which also looks like melted on the joint.

Why the heck it went bad that fast. it wasn't that hot and summer hasn't started yet.
I better get another capacitor just to be on the safe side.

is there special tool that i need to use to put the hook on the wire?
seems like regular plyer wasn't did the good job
 
  #19  
Old 06-20-19, 01:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,160
Likes Received: 18
Loose connections will melt wires quickly.
You’ll need a crimping tool to put on the spade terminal.
In one of your previous photos it appears the red wire is melting as well.
 
shyboy liked this post.
  #20  
Old 06-21-19, 06:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Thank you. I do have clips, I guess I need to find the right crimp tool to press it with the wire.
 
  #21  
Old 06-22-19, 04:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,758
Likes Received: 6
Hi, while you are in there shut the power off to the unit and pull the cover off that contactor and have a look at the contact points, if they are pitted replace the contactor. Cheap insurance, and could save a compressor.
Geo
 
shyboy liked this post.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes