New HVAC needed; advice please

Old 07-20-19, 06:53 PM
New HVAC needed; advice please

Hi guys, I have a question regarding my central air conditioning. I have two zones for A/C. I have two Rheem HVACs outside and two compressors in the attic. The HVACs are 13 years old. I just moved into my house nearly 2 years ago, so I am new to all of this.

Last summer, we noticed the A/C was not coming in strongly into the master bedroom and one of the kid's bedrooms, but cooled the rest of the house fine.

We had the HVACs maintained two months ago. We told the technician about the two bedrooms not being cooled down as well as the rest of the house. The technician told us the freon levels were low and it was most likely due a leak, especially due to the age of the HVACs. He told us that the freon levels should be rechecked in a few months and to see if the a/c worked better in the two bedrooms. It didn't. The company came back (their return visit was free) and noticed the freon levels in one of the HVACs was lower. They went up into the attic to check the ducts and said they could not really do anything to improve the air flow without making it into a big job. In fact, they recommended to remove the existing duct work and put in new ducts (especially if the HVACs were going to be replaced). The reason they recommended that is b/c they said the duct work has components from the 1950s, 1970s, and 1990s, when previous work was done, which created a mess of things. They also told me that one of the HVACs was failing (it wasn't blowing out hot air and the mechanism that attached the wires to it wasn't ice cold...it was just a medium temperature).

So, here are my questions:

Does it sound like it's time to get new HVACs? I'm concerned since freon will be much more expensive on January 1, 2020. Also, both HVACs are 13 years old each. My understanding is HVACs last 10-15 years and I'm pretty much approaching toward the end of the lifespan of an HVAC.