Trane xl1200 Condenser Fan on Continuosly - Line Freeze up

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-12-19, 08:38 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 216
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane xl1200 Condenser Fan on Continuosly - Line Freeze up

I have a model TT036C100A0 that has a frozen line running to the evaporator. The air filter is not plugged and the vents flow freely. The condenser fan and compressor is running continuously and I read this can be one of the causes of the freeze up. One part to check is the contactor. What else should be checked to trouble shoot?
 

Last edited by edge10; 08-12-19 at 08:55 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-12-19, 08:51 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,756
Received 69 Votes on 65 Posts
Hi, does the compressor and condenser an shut off when the is no call for cooling at the Stat?
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 08-12-19, 08:58 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 216
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, they are both continuously running. I shut off the stat and freeze up stopped initially with the condenser fan running. However, just checked and I got freeze up again with the stat in the same off position. I think I should the kill power to the unit.
 
  #4  
Old 08-12-19, 09:01 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,848
Received 102 Votes on 96 Posts
So when you turn up the setpoint and/or turn the thermostat to off the condenser stays running?
Check for coil voltage at the contactor. If the coil voltage is dropping out but the contactor remains closed you probably have a welded contactor.
If coil voltage doesn’t drop out you have a short circuit in the control wiring.
 
  #5  
Old 08-12-19, 10:28 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 216
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, both compressor and condenser fan stay running with the raised setpoint or turning off the control at the t-stat.

Turns out the contactor is bad. I cleaned the contacts with cleaner for temp fix until I get the new part. 2 on/off cycles and it is still OK. Anyone have a online store for Trane parts they have good experience with ?

Condenser coil fins are pretty dirty too. Anyone have a recommended cleaner?
 

Last edited by edge10; 08-12-19 at 11:14 AM.
  #6  
Old 08-12-19, 11:21 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,848
Received 102 Votes on 96 Posts
Contactor is generic. You can find them anywhere.
Just need to know the pole, amp rating and coil voltage.
Yours is likely a 30 or 40 amp/24 volt. Either 1 or 2 pole.
 
  #7  
Old 08-12-19, 11:57 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,756
Received 69 Votes on 65 Posts
Hi, I use the coil cleaner from the Big Orange store, seem to work fine, as mentioned most contactors are generic .
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 08-14-19, 06:48 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 216
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is there anything else I should do for preventive maintenance on this unit? Should I replace the start and run capacitors for the fan and compressor ? They look like the originals and the terminals and case on the comp run cap have corrosion, so it looks like at least the run cap should be replaced. I can test the others, but I would not think they have much life left after 26 yrs.
 
  #9  
Old 08-14-19, 11:15 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,646
Received 1,049 Votes on 973 Posts
You'd be surprised at how long the old capacitors will last.
Don't expect today's replacements to last nearly as long.
It wouldn't hurt to replace them. Keep the olds ones as spares.

Condenser coil cleaning is very important. I agree.... the cleaner from big Orange is fine. Get two cans as one is not quite enough. You'll probably need to lift the fan up to get to the inside of the coils. The spray can go on from either side but it's best to rinse from the inside out. Work carefully..... the heat fins are very easy to bend.
 
  #10  
Old 08-15-19, 07:07 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 216
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do you brand of new capacitors you usually go with - M, J, G (which is OEM) or other? Since they don't make them like they used to, I'll test and only replace capacitors as needed. I get/keep spares as you suggest.
 
  #11  
Old 08-15-19, 09:28 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,645
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
I'd look for a capacitor made anywhere other than China. Not sure you'll find one, but I'd look anyway.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: