A/C & heater running at same time?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-17-19, 04:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C & heater running at same time?

Good afternoon all,

I really need some help with this. I'm living in Dallas, TX and am having an extremely difficult time with my AC. Recently my complex management has installed a brand new unit outside but we didn't notice any performance improvement with the new one. The air is blowing into the apartment pretty warm at all times of the day. The AC is set to cooling at 73 but it just doesn't seem to be able to get there.

Additionally, at my breaker panel, I have a 40A Breaker labeled heat and a 20A labeled AC. If I turn off the heat the entire unit stops working. But if I turn off just the AC the unit keeps running.

According to my wiring for the thermostat, I have an RH/RC jumper with a single red wire. See picture attached.

I am wondering what I can do in this situation or if there is maybe a possible short somewhere? I appreciate any help I can get with this.

Name:  t1.JPG
Views: 13
Size:  58.9 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-19-19 at 10:09 AM. Reason: reoriented/resized picture
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-17-19, 06:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,407
Received 11 Votes on 10 Posts
Do you know if the outside unit is straight AC or is a heat pump? If a heat pump you don't have enough wires at the thermostat.
40 amp breaker for heat is normally controlled by the white wire. Move it to W1 assuming no heat pump.
 
  #3  
Old 08-17-19, 07:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I believe this unit has a heat pump. Here is the part number: GSX140301KC

This is the website for the unit itself:
https://www.goodmanmfg.com/products/.../14-seer-gsx14

Also, attached is a photo for reference. Again, I believe this does have a heat pump, but I did not see a horizontal copper bar inside the unit.

Name:  l1.JPG
Views: 10
Size:  63.9 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-19-19 at 10:13 AM. Reason: reoriented/resized picture
  #4  
Old 08-17-19, 11:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,407
Received 11 Votes on 10 Posts
GSX is an air conditioner only. GSZ is the heat pump version. So you need to move the white wire to W1.
 
  #5  
Old 08-17-19, 11:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wire moved to W1. Is there anything I need to watch out for or monitor? Or even might notice? Thank you for the help by the way.
 

Last edited by BMaverick; 08-18-19 at 12:01 AM.
  #6  
Old 08-18-19, 06:24 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,407
Received 11 Votes on 10 Posts
Try heat and try cool. Make sure thermostat is set to electric heating.
 
  #7  
Old 08-18-19, 07:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I toggled to heat and the heater 100% turned on. It had that unique heater smell and the air was much much hotter. It was already 80 in the apartment when we woke up this morning too. We also called emergency maintenance out and they said there was nothing wrong with it.
 
  #8  
Old 08-18-19, 08:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,407
Received 11 Votes on 10 Posts
If still not cooling enough you need to call someone else.
 
  #9  
Old 08-19-19, 04:26 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,956
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
Hi, who wired that Tstat? Is that yellow conductor under the terminal screw for Y1, I would pull that cable out of the wall a bit and make sure there is nothing shorted there, I can see bare copper on the Red conductor .
What model # is that Tstat, does it require the C conductor?
Geo
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: