A/C not blowing cold air


  #1  
Old 09-01-19, 07:20 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A/C not blowing cold air

Hey there, basically the video says it all. blows only hot air. I'm in the process of replace the capacitor which is the most obvious thing just by looking at it. Edit: Does the capacitor effect the compressor?

https://youtu.be/x3JL5_w5BzI

Forgot to add a thank you for anyone taking the time to help me out on this issue, if I missed any critical info to look at or something to try please let me know!

Name:  cap.JPG
Views: 94
Size:  27.0 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 09-02-19 at 05:51 PM. Reason: added capacitor picture
  #2  
Old 09-02-19, 02:38 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,617
Received 157 Likes on 143 Posts
Hi, that capacitor looks like it is for the fan, is there 24VAC across the contactor coil when the Tstat is set for cooling? Follow the line voltage conductors coming into the unit and where they attach to the contactor and see if you are getting 240 VAC.
Also any wiring Dia. of this unit, mdl#, mfg.
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 09-02-19, 05:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,614
Received 3,321 Likes on 2,983 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

That is one of two capacitors. You will have one for the fan and one for the compressor. That looks to be the one for the compressor based on the yellow wire. There may be another cap out near the fan motor.

That hum you are hearing is the compressor and it's cycling due to thermal overload partially because the fan isn't running and partially from that cap.
 
  #4  
Old 09-02-19, 07:30 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sorry for the late response, Thanks for the reply. I looked all over the unit, and I didn't see any other capacitors like that one, I bought a new one and it should be coming in tomorrow.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00EVTH6QW/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I'll attach some pictures of the capacitor I pulled off yesterday.



 
  #5  
Old 09-02-19, 07:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,614
Received 3,321 Likes on 2,983 Posts
Ok.... bad angle on the video. Yes..... that's a dual run capacitor. Controls fan and compressor.
Replacing that should take care of your problems.
 
  #6  
Old 09-02-19, 07:44 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks for looking over my post man. I hope to come back here to say it's fixed!
 
  #7  
Old 09-04-19, 02:24 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Worked like a charm thanks for the help
 
  #8  
Old 09-04-19, 02:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,614
Received 3,321 Likes on 2,983 Posts
You're welcome. Thanks for letting us know how you made out.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: