Window A.C. Unit

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-05-19, 01:57 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 421
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Window A.C. Unit

Last week I bought a Whirlpool 5000 BTU window A.C. unit and have been using it for the past couple nights. I can hear the compressor constantly turn on. Is that normal and doesn't that use more electricity than it should? I timed it and after the compressor shut off it started again 75 seconds later, ran for 40 seconds, then shut off to start another cycle.

Rich
 

Last edited by erniebanks; 09-05-19 at 02:14 AM.
  #2  
Old 09-05-19, 05:11 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,418
Received 746 Votes on 685 Posts
That has to do with the area you are trying to cool and how you have the AC ste. If it's a big room, poorly insulated or if the AC is undersized it may have to run almost continuously to reach your desired/set temperature.
 
  #3  
Old 09-05-19, 07:10 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 421
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Thanks, Pilot Dane. I measured my room and it's 260 sq. ft. (13 x 20) and I just looked at an ac calculator and it calls for a 7000 btu. Is that what you come up with?
 
  #4  
Old 09-05-19, 11:11 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,418
Received 746 Votes on 685 Posts
How well the room is insulated, how many windows and doors and ceiling height all have a impact on how much cooling is needed so it's not as simple as square footage. When the AC is running does it blow nice cool air? You should be getting about 15-20f temperature difference between the air entering and exiting the air conditioner. If your AC is blowing out air 15-20f cooler than the air coming in then it's probably a simple problem of being under sized. If the air coming out of the AC is only getting mildly cool then maybe the AC is not working properly.
 
  #5  
Old 09-05-19, 02:18 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,005
Received 19 Votes on 15 Posts
That's a short cycle and definitely not good for the unit. Does it blow cool air when the compressor runs? And if so, do you have curtains or furniture that may be blocking the air flow or causing the cold air to re-enter the air conditioner and falsely trip the thermostat? I've seen that a few times, so make sure the cold return air can blow up and away from the unit into the room.
 
  #6  
Old 09-05-19, 08:06 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 421
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Thank you. That's an interesting concept. All that's in front of it is an ironing board but I will remove that the next time I turn the AC on and see what happens. If it still cycles on and off like it did I think I will return it to Walmart.
 
  #7  
Old 09-05-19, 08:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,761
Received 1,321 Votes on 1,221 Posts
If you remove the front cover where the filter is.... the evaporator coil should be exposed. See if there are two sensors near the coil. Some units use one against the coil to detect freezing and one not touching the coil to sense the room air temperature.

If there is only one sensor..... try moving it away from the coil. It needs to sense the room air.
 
  #8  
Old 09-06-19, 05:26 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,418
Received 746 Votes on 685 Posts
Sorry, I misread your original post. I thought the AC was running for long periods without turning off (40 min vs 40 seconds). It should not be cycling on and off quickly like that.
 
  #9  
Old 09-06-19, 08:41 AM
F
Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 485
Received 28 Votes on 21 Posts
By chance do you have it set to run in "Economy" mode (or whatever Whirlpool calls it)?
 
  #10  
Old 09-06-19, 06:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,761
Received 1,321 Votes on 1,221 Posts
I don't believe smaller units have the economy choice.

Standard mode cycles the compressor but the fans always runs.
The economy mode just turns the fan off with the blower.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: