Generator won't start 3 ton condenser

Old 09-06-19, 04:53 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Generator won't start 3 ton condenser

I just had an 11KW Generac home generator installed. My 3ton Ruud 2011 condenser will not start. It pulls 112 on start up and Generac dealer says I need to get it down around 40 or 50 for it to be able to kick on with my "under powered" generator. He said to have HVAC people install a hard start kit. I've messaged Ruud to see if there is a recommended type or brand that would work with my model but have not heard back. I'm new to this world but trying to learn as much as I can before I have HVAC people out. Thank you

Old 09-06-19, 05:12 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,333 Upvotes on 2,992 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Feet wise...... how many feet of wire are between the generator and the condenser ?
Just an educated guess..... doesn't need to be exact.

The more wire between the two the higher the starting load due to voltage drop.

Your hvac tech should have hardstarts on board his truck but there is no guarantee that will allow it to start. It's going to have to be tried.

Old 09-07-19, 06:12 AM
Received 158 Upvotes on 144 Posts
Hi, what are the specs on the condenser? Post a pic of the name plate.
Geo

Old 09-07-19, 06:25 AM
Super Moderator
Received 66 Upvotes on 61 Posts
A hard start kit would reduce the starting current if your unit does not have one but it won't reduce it to less than half of what it is now.
But, as said you have nothing to loose by trying it.

Curious to know how you came to get a generator that was too small?

Old 09-07-19, 05:01 PM
P
Group Moderator
Received 1,708 Upvotes on 1,525 Posts
Is anything else in the house using power when running your AC?