Clogged A/C condensate drain line

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-24-19, 04:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Clogged A/C condensate drain line

Just looking for a little help - I'm getting a lot of condensation dripping to my outside line - I've attached a pic of the set up - I've pouring some water/vinegar 50/50 solution down the drain (the one with the opening in the pic). Just wondering if I am missing something or if the set up is off and needs high level repair.

Any help or guidance is appreciated.

Thanks so much.

Name:  cd.jpg
Views: 53
Size:  117.5 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 09-24-19 at 04:43 PM. Reason: Added labeled pic fromj link
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-24-19, 04:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

WOW..... where do I start.
Was this installed by a contractor ? It is not done correctly.
The drain lines are actually backwards.

I placed two arrows in your picture. The red arrow is the primary drain. Notice it's slightly lower than the blue drain. This is supposed to handle ALL your draining needs. There should be NO water in the overflow pan. (The pan that is extremely rusted there) The blue drain is the overflow line. When water comes out there it means the primary line is clogged. The blue line should be discharging into that pan so that when you see water there you know there's a problem.

Technically.... with the way it's set up..... there should be nothing coming out of the blue line. Since the red line is lower..... it should still be discharging into the overflow pan. If nothing is coming out of the red line.... it's clogged inside the unit.
 
  #3  
Old 09-24-19, 05:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you, the arrows are very helpful! It was replaced when we bought the house a couple years ago - the pan had water in it, but I wet vacuumed it out.

So I'm guessing I could just switch the piles and it would work like it was supposed to?
 
  #4  
Old 09-24-19, 05:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
Yes.... switching the pipes would make it correct.
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-19, 05:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Awesome. Will do, hopefully a quick switch. Thanks for your help!
 
  #6  
Old 09-24-19, 05:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
Don't forget to clean out the red drain fitting inside the unit. If you have both lines off....... mix some hot water and bleach..... 50/50..... and pour it into the blue side. Algae and other grime tends to build up right at the fittings.
 
  #7  
Old 09-25-19, 08:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I didn't even think of that, but makes sense while I have them off. You've been a life saver (and $$$ saver) thanks again.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: