A/C Repeat intermittent breaker tripping story

Old 09-29-19, 09:30 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C Repeat intermittent breaker tripping story

I am not a mechanic, electrician, or A/C person by trade, but I can do a lot of the work myself from experience and my knowledge base. To the point.

Woke up one morning a week ago and noticed it was a lot cooler inside than I preferred. I turned the A/C stat up a bit and noted about an hour later that the inside air handler came on, but the condenser outside did not.

I probed the terminals at the contacts in the outside unit with a multimeter which registered zero voltage, while the contact relay coil registered its 24v input. The unit is a 1997 Rheem, that was fed power directly from the wall, no disconnect box in sight.

It wasn't punishingly hot at my location in Central FL, so it took me 3 days and 3 trips into the attic where the air handler is, to finally find the breaker outside in the master breaker box on the house, about 15 ft away. It just wasn't that obvious and not an area I've spent much time in. There's also the usual breaker box inside the house.

The 40 amp breaker was indeed tripped. I reset it and was back in business for about 10 min as it tripped again. I purchased a replacement breaker, installed it, and turned it on and immediately heard a pop and saw a flash just below the meter, adjacent to the box. This made no sense because I completely disconnected the business end at the condenser except for the ground, so there was no load on the circuit.

I checked the voltage at the breaker terminals at the box this time and zero. I called the power company out to check their end of the power feed and suddenly the breaker appeared tripped upon inspection, where before it was still in the on position after the pop and flash.