Compressor and Fan Not Working After New Contactor Installed

Reply

  #41  
Old 11-06-19, 07:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,219
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
You need to go inside to the air handler. You can post a model number and we'll try to look it up. Pictures are much faster and usually better. The 24vAC comes from a transformer inside the air handler. You most likely blew a 3-5A protection fuse. If not...... the transformer may be blown. Typically this happens when wiring work is done and the air handler is not powered down first.
 
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 11-07-19, 06:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJ, when you say go inside the air handler do you mean beyond inside the electrical panel? I thought all the electronics were in the electrical panel? I posted a picture in a previous post.

I'll get the model number after work today.
 
  #43  
Old 11-07-19, 08:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,462
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Inside of your house, may be in the attic, there is a big metal box (air handler) which has the furnace and blower fan in there, The transformer should be in there too.
 
  #44  
Old 11-08-19, 07:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Clocert, I have a packaged unit outside my house. Only the thermostat is inside.
 
  #45  
Old 11-08-19, 03:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is the model number.
 
Attached Images  
  #46  
Old 11-09-19, 11:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJ, any suggestions? The only fuse I can see in the electrical panel is a 3 Amp but I replaced it a week ago. It did not appear to be blown at the time but I figured I might as well.
 
  #47  
Old 11-11-19, 08:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well I broke down and called in a pro yesterday and had it fixed. The temp in Nashville is supposed to dip into the twenties tonight.

​​​​​​Turns out the compressor had zero refrigerant caused by a leak in one of the copper lines. The line was rubbing against a metal bracket near the fan. Seems that the compressor vibration prematurely wore a hole in the line.

$400 later and it's fixed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: