Compressor and Fan Not Working After New Contactor Installed


  #41  
Old 11-06-19, 07:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,641
Received 3,324 Upvotes on 2,985 Posts
You need to go inside to the air handler. You can post a model number and we'll try to look it up. Pictures are much faster and usually better. The 24vAC comes from a transformer inside the air handler. You most likely blew a 3-5A protection fuse. If not...... the transformer may be blown. Typically this happens when wiring work is done and the air handler is not powered down first.
 
  #42  
Old 11-07-19, 06:24 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 39
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
PJ, when you say go inside the air handler do you mean beyond inside the electrical panel? I thought all the electronics were in the electrical panel? I posted a picture in a previous post.

I'll get the model number after work today.
 
  #43  
Old 11-07-19, 08:41 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,533
Upvotes: 0
Received 5 Upvotes on 5 Posts
Inside of your house, may be in the attic, there is a big metal box (air handler) which has the furnace and blower fan in there, The transformer should be in there too.
 
  #44  
Old 11-08-19, 07:11 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 39
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Clocert, I have a packaged unit outside my house. Only the thermostat is inside.
 
  #45  
Old 11-08-19, 03:26 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 39
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Here is the model number.
 
Attached Images  
  #46  
Old 11-09-19, 11:10 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 39
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
PJ, any suggestions? The only fuse I can see in the electrical panel is a 3 Amp but I replaced it a week ago. It did not appear to be blown at the time but I figured I might as well.
 
  #47  
Old 11-11-19, 08:13 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 39
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Well I broke down and called in a pro yesterday and had it fixed. The temp in Nashville is supposed to dip into the twenties tonight.

​​​​​​Turns out the compressor had zero refrigerant caused by a leak in one of the copper lines. The line was rubbing against a metal bracket near the fan. Seems that the compressor vibration prematurely wore a hole in the line.

$400 later and it's fixed.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: