What do I need to seal this nut?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-06-19, 07:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 215
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What do I need to seal this nut?

Hello. My AC regularly goes out (every month or so). The first repair I ordinarily do is to close the value, remove the drain plug from the Y strainer (which you see circled), and flush the debris and dirt from the water line using the lever you see circled here (as well as in the attached image):

https://photos.app.goo.gl/m1Mm1JHnmuQ4gFC96

If that doesn't work, I use a wet vac to suck the water, which can sometime get clumpy, out of this tube:

https://photos.app.goo.gl/EgL6yW3t9oCQNreg8

I did both repairs yesterday, however, and the AC has already stopped working. Something else is wrong.

The only other thing I've seen done is to remove the nut to the Y strainer and clean the actual strainer. The nut is circled in the attached image. I know how to take it off. But, as you can see here, the washer it came with is broken:

https://photos.app.goo.gl/bCVrKXLtKJJchV2S9

Therefore, the technician used (1) teflon pipe thread and (2) a white caulk-like substance to seal the nut.

It looks like I'm going to have to take the nut off as I don't know what else to do. So, could you please tell me what that white, caulk-like substance is? He put it around the flat part of the nut that the washer had once fit around. He did not put it on the actual threads. I don't want to get something to strong or permanent lest I don't be able to remove the nut the next time this happens.

Alternatively, do you think I could seal it with only pipe thread?

Thanks!!!

EDIT: I do not have a caulk gun.
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-06-19, 08:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,251
Received 482 Votes on 452 Posts
Are you still messing with this strainer ??

You had a technician there...... did he change the strainer ? He should have.
If he did you shouldn't have a problem just using teflon tape.

On a completely different note...... you should get with building maintenance and find out why there is so much crap in the chilled water. There shouldn't be as much as you are getting. Typically cleaning once a season is enough.
 
  #3  
Old 12-06-19, 08:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 215
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I do not own this condo. No, the "technician," who didn't seem so technical, did not change the strainer. He didn't even seem to know where to get one. There's so much of that debris because the lines that come down from the roof are deteriorating. They do clean them.

Did you mean to say, "If he DIDN'T, so shouldn't have a problem just using the teflon tape"? In other words, I should just go ahead and use the teflon tape liberally?

Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 12-06-19, 08:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,251
Received 482 Votes on 452 Posts
Those are available in plumbing supplies.

We went thru all this on your other thread.
In this picture it almost looks like it was silicone sealed. Like he glued it in place. The silicone would hold pretty good and be easily removable but it takes a while (a day) to fully cure.
 
  #5  
Old 12-06-19, 09:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 215
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't fully remember the previous thread, though I remember I a lot of it as you can tell. So use just the teflon tape and, only if it doesn't seal, add silicone?
 
  #6  
Old 12-08-19, 03:02 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,417
Received 14 Votes on 11 Posts
I would replace that 14 dollar strainer.
 
  #7  
Old 12-08-19, 05:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,251
Received 482 Votes on 452 Posts
I would replace that 14 dollar strainer.
Absolutely !

Yes..... try teflon tape first.
 
  #8  
Old 01-14-20, 04:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
there should be a gasket on the nut. you could use pipe dope on the threads. no need to clean the strainer just clean it. is the strainer dirty. if your cleaning the strainer monthly then there is a building maintaince problem. I assume that is a open loop tower if its a closed loop system then there is a major problem.

is the strainer dirty and the unit is tripping on high head pressure
if its clean and tripping on high head does it have a flow switch
need to get the differental temp on the inlet and outlet water temp.
 
  #9  
Old 01-14-20, 07:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,251
Received 482 Votes on 452 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

then there is a building maintaince problem.
Yes..... there is a dirty water problem there requiring frequent filter cleaning.
The brass nut has become worn out from the many removals.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: