Condensate issue in draft inducer motor

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-13-20, 12:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Condensate issue in draft inducer motor

Hello All,

I have been dealing with a condensate issue off and on for a while with my high efficiency furnace. I have eliminated the following as being an issue:

1) Vent pipe is clear and installed properly per install instructions
2) Air supply in is adequte per install instructions
3) Condensate trap is clear and working and drain is clear all the way to floor drain
4) Collector box is clear
5) Furnace pitch front to back is slightly forward per install instructions
6) Draft inducer motor is working properly

Even with all of the above working properly, I still get condensate buildup in my draft inducer housing and I can hear the liquid slosh around over time. This in turn creates erratic vacuum readings at the port that connects to my pressure switch, which throws a switch error and the furnace then cycles.

I did some additional checks on the furnace install. When facing the front of the furnace, I noted that it was installed directly to the cement floor which is sloped to the drain. So it is not level in that direction and the slope is working against the drain direction of the collector box. My assumption is that the condensate will not flow normally to the trap and starts to build up abnormally in the collector box to a level that allows the draft inducer to suck it inside. See attached photo.

Anyone ever seen anything like this before. This is the only thing that I can find that could be an issue.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be welcome.

Many Thanks,
Michael

 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-14-20, 07:54 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,093
Received 16 Votes on 14 Posts
If there is a barbed fitting on the inducer housing, make sure it is clear. I usually use a paper clip to clear it. Often flakes of rust will clog the fitting.
 
  #3  
Old 02-14-20, 05:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey there,
Thans for the reply. Yes I have checked that fitting multiple times. It is always clear of debris but gets condensate/water in it. That is what opens the switch and then the furnace cycles. It is the condensate in the inducer motor housing that is the issue. I

I looked at the slope of the furnace again and the one side would need to come up about 1/2" to make the furnace level. I think this would get the condensate draining properly in the collector box to the trap. The draft inducer mounts so close to the bottom of the collector box I can see why this could become a problem.

At this point I am looking and disconnecting the ductwork and jacking the thing up to get it level.
Any other advice.

Many Thanks
Mike
 
  #4  
Old 02-14-20, 08:22 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,093
Received 16 Votes on 14 Posts
Leveling the furnace might help but if it worked fine for several years... I believe there's more to it than just being out of level.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: