Anyone Expert on Bryant Slimline Condensers?


  #1  
Old 04-18-20, 11:18 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Anyone Expert on Bryant Slimline Condensers?

Hello all, I have a question, does anyone know if the Piping on the 4-TON Slimline Condenser is the same as the 5Ton one? Or you have to change piping? I want to change my condenser and Air Handler, to 5-Ton from 3-Ton. But if I have to change the pipes I cannot afford it.

I went from 3 to 4 and they were the same. I am hoping its the same for 5-Ton.

https://www.bryant.com/en/us/product...ioners/124ans/

Thank you.

1 Condenser 4ton Bryant Preferred Slim Model: 124ANS 14 SEER/12.2 EER R410A
1 ADP Plenum Evaporator coil horizontal 4TON up to 14.5 Seer R410A
1 Gas Furnaces Bryant 4 ton 90kBTU Variable speed 2 stage gas Model 821TA
 
  #2  
Old 04-18-20, 11:57 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,025
Received 3,411 Upvotes on 3,060 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Very doubtful it's the same size. The larger unit should require larger supply lines.
If you need exact information.... post the model number for the 5 ton system.
 
  #3  
Old 04-18-20, 12:24 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,132
Received 183 Upvotes on 169 Posts
Let’s take a step back for a moment.
Why are you going from a 3 to a 5 ton unit?
What duct modifications are being done to accommodate the increased airflow required?
 
  #4  
Old 04-18-20, 02:24 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The ducting is fine. The space is now 2150sqft. I always rather have a system thats over-designed than under designed. I have 14KW solar system so I do not care about efficiency. i just want a powerful system that cools the house fast. I have two large outlets and return air in every single room. Duct runs are loooong and thats part of the issue.

Same discussions w the HVAC Installer but I let him persuade me into the smaller unit and now it performs as mediocre as I knew it would.

refrigerant lines I believe are the same for 3-5 Ton.

I wish I could buy the units some place. I looked on Ebay cannot find any. All the dealers want to install it for you or they do not sell it to you. Honesty beginning to hate Bryant altogether, no wonder they re losing market share.


back to the Topic. Trying to see how much of the system I could salvage.
 
  #5  
Old 04-18-20, 02:55 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,132
Received 183 Upvotes on 169 Posts
That would be a very poor idea.
If your duct system was designed for 3 tons of airflow it will not function with a 5 ton unit.
You will have problems, both in breakdowns and performance.
You do not want a system that cools the space down fast. It greatly lessens comfort and causes short cycling problems with the equipment.
Needing 5 tons for 2100 square feet is outrageous.
Bigger equipment is not better.
 
  #7  
Old 04-18-20, 03:24 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The ducting has been revised to accommodate the addition it was for smaller when I had the treatment but the way we use the air conditioning system is very different than most I turn it on for two hours gets the whole school and I turn it off there is not a whole lot of short cycling involved.

Everyone who designs the HVAC systems the designer assuming the AC is on for 24 hours a day maybe thats the case if you live up in the desert where I live in San Diego we mainly use it for three months out of the year around September August time frame where we just want to turn it on for a short period of time to get the humidity out and then shut it off the faster you can cycle the earth through the house the quicker you can cool it down its that simple if I have more outlets that I can push more air through with a stronger system I can get it done quicker.
 
  #8  
Old 04-18-20, 03:37 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,132
Received 183 Upvotes on 169 Posts
Dehumidification is only done via runtime, not short cycling.
Short runtimes with fast cool downs can INCREASE humidity.
What is the size of the duct that connects to the air handler?
How many supply takeoffs are there and what size are they?
Even revised your main duct system will have to be modified to accommodate the additional airflow. Which should be around 2,500 CFM.
 
  #9  
Old 04-18-20, 04:17 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I will have to measure them. There is air flow just not enough.
 
  #10  
Old 04-18-20, 04:20 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,132
Received 183 Upvotes on 169 Posts
If the duct system is currently undersized, a larger unit will make the problem even worse.
Imagine living with a system that sounds like a jet engine at full throttle when it’s running. And constantly breaks down and freezes up. This is life with a severely undersized duct system.
What issue are you trying to solve with a larger unit? What doesn’t work to your satisfaction?
 
  #11  
Old 04-18-20, 07:31 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
there is air flow just not enough. Only one room gets the nice cold air flowing at rate that I like. The other ones do not.
 
  #12  
Old 04-18-20, 07:55 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,132
Received 183 Upvotes on 169 Posts
It sounds like you have duct problems. Not an undersized unit.
A big 5 ton unit isn’t going to be very happy not being able to move as much air as it needs to.
A simple static pressure test of the duct would give a lot of useful information.
As I said before, if your intended goal is dehumidification, that’s accomplished by extended runtime. Not flash cooling as fast as possible.
Ideally when the duct is setup properly you should neither hear nor feel airflow while the system is operating.
 
  #13  
Old 04-18-20, 08:13 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I guess you said the terminology right. Flash cooling is what I was always looking for. I had 2600ft with a split 4-Ton downstairs and 3-Ton upstairs. When I came home and turned it on the house cooled fast. Did not have to wait half an hour for signs of cooling off. Honestly I am not sure why so many HVAC contractors have a hard time with this? If you double up the register count and your return air is large enough whats wrong with having a system that flows a lot more air in a smaller space?

i personally cannot stand hear and living in San Diego is OK but three month of the year I wish I moved to Alaska.
 
  #14  
Old 04-18-20, 08:21 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,132
Received 183 Upvotes on 169 Posts
HVAC isn’t about conditioning a space as fast as possible.
Occupant comfort, system efficiency, performance, and other variables suffer greatly when your trying to condition the space in the least amount of time.
And if your trying to maximize airflow, the occupants would be able to both hear and feel the air, which leads to discomfort. It gives the whole space a wind tunnel effect. Who wants to live in that?
Fast cooling also will not dehumidify the space. We call this cave syndrome. It’s when your house is cold and wet, because your house is so wet with humidity you have to turn the temperature down very cold to get any kind of comfort. Which then leads to mold growth from elevated moisture.
If you don’t like waiting for the house to cool down, leave the air conditioner on. The equipment and structure is much happier that way anyhow.
 
  #15  
Old 04-18-20, 08:48 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Do you know anywhere that I can buy Bryant Equipment? All contractors here will not sell it to you if you do not have them install it. There are a lot of other systems on Ebay I can buy but not many of them have slimline
 
  #16  
Old 04-18-20, 08:49 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,132
Received 183 Upvotes on 169 Posts
Not specifically, no.
Are you still wanting to buy a 5 ton unit?
 
  #17  
Old 04-18-20, 09:05 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
At this point its a maybe. I am having a guy come and do a review of the ducting. He charges $250 to do that.

i paid Home depot $6000 to pull the ducts and lay down all ew ones, it was a total of 14 drops (5 Returns and and 7 outlets. $500 per register.

then I wanted the 2 Heat pumps changed to Gas furnace and the 3-Ton changed to 4. They wanted $16,600. I called a Bryant contractor he charged $11,480. Was a Russian guy, nice guy but his installers had major attitude.

anyways so here I am $17,500 later and unhappy.
 
  #18  
Old 04-18-20, 09:41 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,132
Received 183 Upvotes on 169 Posts
It sounds like your major complaint is airflow.
How was the duct designed?
Should have used an AHRI Manuel J to size the equipment, then a room by room manual J with a manual D to design your duct.
I’ll say again. A larger unit WILL NOT fix poor ductwork. In fact, it may amplify the issue.
 
  #19  
Old 04-18-20, 09:54 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I honestly do not know. They pulled 8 line from vents with a Y splitter into s 20 to the plenum. And for Bathrooms they just pulled individual 8 all the way to the plenum.
 
  #20  
Old 04-18-20, 10:04 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,132
Received 183 Upvotes on 169 Posts
Is this all flex duct that’s run?
Photos would help.
 
  #21  
Old 04-18-20, 10:23 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes all Flex Ducts. I will take some pictures.
 
  #22  
Old 04-19-20, 05:54 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,132
Received 183 Upvotes on 169 Posts
Interested to see the photos. Starting to sound like a flexosourus system.
That’s usually not good
 
  #23  
Old 04-21-20, 08:35 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,132
Received 183 Upvotes on 169 Posts
Any updates to your problem?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: