Condenser fan gremlin: canít figure it out!


  #1  
Old 05-10-20, 06:44 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Condenser fan gremlin: canít figure it out!

My (Carrier 38HDA) condenser fan stopped working. My first thought was a bad capacitor: I replaced the capacitor and sure enough the fan started right up. I had cooling for 2 days and thought I was an HVAC whiz. Then the fan stopped again. I replaced the capacitor again (thinking maybe I had bought a defective one) and replaced the contactor as well. Didnít work: no fan. That only left the motor as the culprit so I replaced the fan motor. I also replaced the fan blade and put yet another new capacitor in just to be sure. Once again I was an HVAC whiz: the fan started right up and I had cool air. But 3 days later the fan stopped and Iím back to square one but with no ideas on what else could be the problem. I have tested that there is power at the contactor so the fuses arenít blown. All parts were replaced with OEM identical parts. Thoughts on what may be the problem/what to do next?
 
  #2  
Old 05-11-20, 11:27 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,054
Received 3,420 Upvotes on 3,066 Posts
There is a low ambient temperature option that can be added to that model. It wouldn't be needed in your area but it may be in there anyway. The idea of that option is to cycle the fan when the ambient air is below a certain temperature.

If the module was not present..... the fan motor power wires would connect directly to the contactor.
If it did have that module..... it would interrupt the wiring to the fan.

There should be a wiring diagram on the unit.

 
  #3  
Old 05-11-20, 02:56 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the idea but I don't believe there is a low ambient temperature cutoff: the fan motor wires connect directly to the contactor. Thoughts on what else could be the problem or what to look at next?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: