Toshiba portable A/C: over-condensating

Old 05-25-20, 02:11 PM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Toshiba portable A/C: over-condensating

Let me start by saying I have limited knowledge of air conditioning units, though I can often perform small repairs on devices I'm unfamiliar with, given guidance. I have a Toshiba RAC-PD1011CRU mobile AC unit that we use between the living room and bedroom. Last summer when we first got the unit, we managed to go about two months or so without draining the lower drip pan; it never caused a problem. Last week, we hooked the unit up in the living room, and about three hours in on the first day, the unit went into a status "P1" which means, according to the manual, you need to drain the pan. I did, and went about my business. Three hours later, same deal. Odd, we never did this last year. Long story short, it's filling up about a quart of condensate every few hours, whereas last year, it did not function this way. The temperatures are no hotter, it's in the same location, so I have no idea what's different.

So my question is, is this a reasonable amount of condensation to expect, and last year seems unusual, or is there something I need to do to the unit to get this to a more manageable amount of liquid
? (note, the unit has a dehumidifier setting, but the above all relates to the cool setting only; we do not use it as a dehumidifier).

Sponsored Links
Old 05-25-20, 04:13 PM
Group Moderator
Received 823 Votes on 773 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

A typical A/C can generate a lot of condensation based on room humidity. Most window units have a slinger on the outside fan that throws the condensate water up onto the condenser coil. This serves to help cool the unit as well as to reduce the amount of runoff.