What is this wire. It looks like a tiny brush.


  #1  
Old 05-30-20, 09:04 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What is this wire. It looks like a tiny brush.

I just have to figure out where this one wire goes before I put everything back together.

So I took my Window Unit apart to clean it. It fell 6ft out of the window. After hammering the tray back into shape and a bracket on the motor it still works! But I have one red wire that needs to go back somewhere. I don't know what the technical words are for everything so I'm putting lots of pictures in a sharable link(there are too many upload into this post), the wiring diagram and the model number that links to A/C on the Fridgidaire website. after my description.

The wire in question:
Attached to the 'Anion Generator'.
The end of it looks like a tiny brush.
It has what looks like electrical tape wrapped around the end of it.
I found a place that looks like it had electrical tape on it. Maybe this wire was taped to it? It looks like a small copper pipe about the sized of a straw. The copper pipe comes from the compressor,(I do know it's compressor) and lead into the coils in front of the the front fan.
There is also a sticker on the styrofoam. It says 'Do Not Remove'. It has no apparent purpose, but I saved it just in case. Maybe it has something to do with this wire?
If you know what this is and where it goes I would really appreciate the help!
Thank you
Fridgidaire Model Number LRA087AT7

A link to all the pictures in one folder for your convenience.
 

Last edited by Sherri97; 05-30-20 at 09:26 PM.
  #2  
Old 05-31-20, 06:32 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,617
Received 157 Likes on 143 Posts
Hi, according to the Dia. it appears it connects to board on P5 , it probably broke off from the fall.
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 05-31-20, 07:04 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,963
Received 249 Likes on 223 Posts
It probably clips on somewhere but I do not know where.

The following shows similar brushes for ion output
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YUR_oIX42So
 
  #4  
Old 05-31-20, 11:05 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,614
Received 3,321 Likes on 2,983 Posts
It needs to be attached to something non metallic. That means it wouldn't be attached to the refrigerant pipe. It's part of an "ionizer". It needs to be in the airflow. It discharges negative ions into the air. The description says the ionizer helps the air filter. For that to be true that red wire and discharge brush would need to be somewhere near and in front of the filter.

 
  #5  
Old 05-31-20, 02:39 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,617
Received 157 Likes on 143 Posts
Hi, my original post would be incorrect, I miss read your post.
Geo
 
  #6  
Old 06-01-20, 01:48 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thank you for all the input!
PJmax There is different wire encased in what looks like plastic (no 'brush') and mounted on the fins, in the airflow right behind the filter. It's NOT attached to the anion generator. The one I'm trying to figure out IS attached to the anion generator.
Tomorrow, I'm going to post a couple of more pictures. My PC is down today

I'm going to do some research today based on the info you guys gave me here.
(on my phone)

I'll let you know how it goes and if I have more questions.

Thanks so much!
 
  #7  
Old 06-01-20, 06:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,614
Received 3,321 Likes on 2,983 Posts
The other item attached near the coil is the thermistor (temperature sensor).
Some unit have two temp sensors.
 
  #8  
Old 06-02-20, 07:03 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
PJmax Awesome! Thanks for this!

There is a 'stain' where the mysterious 'Do not remove' sticker was. Part of the 'stain' has a thin line. It looks like it may have been the wire. But it's right under the housing of the unit ahove the vents. It would be touching metal. Hopefully I can use my PC later so I can post a picture of what I'm talking about.
 
  #9  
Old 06-02-20, 11:08 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,614
Received 3,321 Likes on 2,983 Posts
The wire itself can touch metal but not the brush end..... as that's where the negative ions are emitted.
 
  #10  
Old 06-03-20, 07:36 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
PJmax
When you say the brush end has to be in the air flow, and if there are 2 wires, will they both be in the path of air passing through the front coils?

If the wire was held down by the 'Do not remove' sticker that would put it directly above the coooled air being cirulated into the room.
Does that sound right to you?
 
  #11  
Old 06-04-20, 03:43 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I uploaded a picture with the red wire in the only place that makes sense.
If someone would please look at this and let me know what you think.

Thank you!
Red wire placed here.
 
  #12  
Old 06-04-20, 04:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,614
Received 3,321 Likes on 2,983 Posts
That is a high voltage wire. Negative ions come out of the wire via the brush.
As long as the end of the brush is not near metal all should be ok.

That picture is private. You'd need to change it to public for us to see it.
 
  #13  
Old 06-04-20, 05:24 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sorry about the picture.

I was looking at the front panel again and think I may have figured it out. There are 2 pictures.

The link should be visible.

The Thin Red Wire
 
  #14  
Old 06-06-20, 03:55 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
PJmax

Thank you so much for your help!
 
  #15  
Old 06-12-20, 03:10 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just want to give an update to anyone following this thread.

I found someone to help me put the unit back in the window yesterday, I didn't want to drop it again after all that hard work!

I can't believe the difference! The air it blows is SO much colder now. I've been wanting to pull my units out for a thorough cleaning for a long time now. Just cleaning the coils wasn't cutting it. They weren't/aren't draining and the mold was/is horrible!
Thank you to everyone for your help. I started cleaning another one last night. Since it wasn't dropped, I had a much easier time taking everything apart. That one has its own complications!

On to a new post!
 
  #16  
Old 06-12-20, 10:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,614
Received 3,321 Likes on 2,983 Posts
Good job.

I'd recommend cleaning the A/C at the end of the cooling system because
the water left behind is usually what causes the mold.
 
  #17  
Old 06-15-20, 10:10 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
PJmax There were a bunch of leaves in the tray. I thought I was going to have to put a hole in it. I didn't know it already had one. It was clogged up and too much junk to pull it all out.

Same problem with the one I just pulled l. I pretty much had to take the whole unit out. It looks like I will to have to them out every year to keep it from happening again. If only I could take off the housing without pulling the whole unit from the window.
 
  #18  
Old 06-15-20, 09:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,614
Received 3,321 Likes on 2,983 Posts
If only I could take off the housing without pulling the whole unit from the window.
Wouldn't that be nice.................
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: