Do I need a Bypass damper?


  #1  
Old 06-08-20, 03:01 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Do I need a Bypass damper?

Have one unit with two thermostats. Hvac was making a louder noise in the attic and a repair main said we never had a bypass installed with a fairly new (8 years) system. They quoted me $1300 just for the bypass damper and duct.

is there a way to have the upstairs and downstairs thermostats more in sync?

is this a necessary repair?
 
  #2  
Old 06-08-20, 05:12 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Have another company coming tomorrow
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-20, 05:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,651
Received 3,339 Upvotes on 2,998 Posts
It all depends on what you are using for a zoning system.
Zoning systems are hit and miss on small A/C systems.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: