Rheem 3A breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-31-20, 08:40 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rheem 3A breaker

Have a 3T Rheem unit with inside unit being in attic. Tonight had the fan only running and decided to turn on the AC. Heard a strange noise coming from the outside unit and fan stopped. Found the following:

Can spin outdoor fan with stick
3A resettable breaker tripped in attic unit
Reset breaker and same thing happened again
Fan only does not trip breaker...only when outside unit tried to come on.

Any thoughts on what outdoor issue can pop that breaker? Outdoor unit making banging or popping noise then it trips.

Thanks!
Jack
 
  #2  
Old 10-31-20, 09:25 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,008
Received 109 Votes on 103 Posts
Something in the control circuit is shorted. This will not have anything to do with high voltage components or capacitors.
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-20, 05:46 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,963
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Hi, your going to have to be outside when someone turns the condenser unit on to identify what’s going on, I would suspect possibly the contactor.
Geo🇺🇸
 
  #4  
Old 11-01-20, 08:02 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 22
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
disconnect the control wires going to the compressor reset the breaker and cycle if it trips then its not the condensing unit next disconnect the wires at tstat and cycle unit by jumping the the y and r wires if it doesnt trip bad stat
 
  #5  
Old 11-01-20, 09:51 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,896
Received 1,343 Votes on 1,241 Posts
Since this is a Rheem heat pump.....B active during heat..... there is a high probability that the problem is the reversing valve or reversing valve wiring.
 
  #6  
Old 11-01-20, 10:08 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks everyone! Went back out and looked at it in the light. Found the insulation missing from the thermostat wires...basically all 4 touching. Looks like repeated “weed whacking” from the yard guys. Stopped the short, started the unit and didn’t trip. Off to re-insulate wires!!
 
  #7  
Old 11-01-20, 01:24 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cut old wire and removed. Spliced in new wire from wall to unit. Wrapped and protected. Found out as most of you probably already knew only 2 of those wires are used. Unit running now.
 
  #8  
Old 11-01-20, 02:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,896
Received 1,343 Votes on 1,241 Posts
Found out as most of you probably already knew only 2 of those wires are used.
Do you have a Rheem heat pump system like I previously mentioned?

If you do...... you need every wire in that cable to be spliced.
Heat pump condensers need at least 4 and sometimes 5 wires.
 
  #9  
Old 11-01-20, 02:56 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Only the red and white were hooked up to the outside unit. The other 3 in the wire were cut off once it went inside the outside unit. System is 17 years old...outside unit does not run when electric heat is on so I think that means no heat pump?
 
  #10  
Old 11-01-20, 03:02 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,008
Received 109 Votes on 103 Posts
What’s the model number of the outdoor unit?
 
  #11  
Old 11-01-20, 03:58 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The outside model number is RAMB-036JBZ
 
  #12  
Old 11-01-20, 04:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,896
Received 1,343 Votes on 1,241 Posts
Ok..... that's a "cool only" unit so there are only two wires needed.
 
  #13  
Old 11-02-20, 11:38 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 149
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
glad it was an easy fix. now go find some new landscapers... ;-)
 
  #14  
Old 11-02-20, 05:33 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 749
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
I would talk to them first before doing something more drastic as finding new ones. This seems to be a common problem though between dogs landscapers and other outside forces. The low voltage wires should be required to be better protected against these damages. On the plus side it was not a refrigerant line that got damaged as that would not be as easily fixed as a piece of wire is.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: