Help moving this register

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-26-21, 12:56 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 83
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Help moving this register

I need to move this register in the ceiling several inches down to the right (away from the light) so the crown molding will fit. Basically just extending the run. I won't need to go across studs as it's just extending in the same bay. Anyone have suggestions as to the easiest way to move the register box and extend the ducting a few inches? Thank you.
 
  #2  
Old 01-26-21, 01:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,369
Received 1,397 Votes on 1,294 Posts
I labeled your picture. Usually the duct box is installed so that the duct is parallel to the joists.
If it was the other direction the duct would hit the joist.

You need to move it the direction of the red arrow..... correct ?
There may be some wiggle room between the joists to move it away from the cabinet.
 
  #3  
Old 01-26-21, 01:40 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 83
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I need to move it to the right so when the crown makes a turn it doesn't hit the register cover.


 
  #4  
Old 01-26-21, 01:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,369
Received 1,397 Votes on 1,294 Posts
Ah... ok. There will probably be enough duct to move it that amount.
Your biggest problem may be is that the duct box is probably nailed to the bottom of the joists.
That will require removing some sheet rock to get to the flange.

I'm guessing no attic access ?
 
  #5  
Old 01-26-21, 01:53 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 83
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Correct, no access above. I figure I have to open some drywall. I can keep the existing box (If I don't destroy it taking it out). Is there a flex duct I can use to extend if there's no slack in the existing ducting, which is rigid, not flex.
 
  #6  
Old 01-26-21, 01:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,369
Received 1,397 Votes on 1,294 Posts
Yes.... you could use the same size flex duct to extend the line.
What is the size of that duct box ?
If it's smaller than the distance between the two joists... it may have some type of brackets.
 
jay060 voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 01-26-21, 02:30 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 83
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
It's 8x8x8 box. Looks like it's screwed into the stud (I see 2 screws) and the rigid duct must be screwed to the box as I see 2 screws coming into the duct opening.
 
  #8  
Old 01-26-21, 04:28 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 83
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Can I use a 90 degree elbow but just straighten it out to 180? It's a 7 inch duct and that's what's locally available. Or a 2 foot duct which is too long.
 
  #9  
Old 01-26-21, 04:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,369
Received 1,397 Votes on 1,294 Posts
Yes.... you can use a universal 90 for that.
If the box is just fastened on the inside..... can you move it to the other side of the stud bay or is that not enough ?
 
  #10  
Old 01-26-21, 05:58 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 83
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I can't move it anywhere. If anything it would move closer to the molding because it's screwed into a stud on the side opposite the molding side. I don't know how much of a flange there is hidden by the sheet rock and I'd like to avoid opening it up too much.

New idea: Install this box (link below) directly to the right of the existing box. Then connect the 2 boxes with ducting after snipping out the right side wall. I can tape the ducting to secure in the existing duct (coming out the left side). Then patch up the existing 8x8 hole in the ceiling. Only other option I see is to open the ceiling.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Master-F...oduct-overview


can I use this flex duct? 7" Inch Aluminum Hose Flexible Air Duct Pipe for Rigid HVAC Flex Ductow... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078HMNTYF/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_api_glc_fabc_a1leGbQEXC1RD?psc=1
 

Last edited by jay060; 01-26-21 at 06:14 PM.
  #11  
Old 01-26-21, 06:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,369
Received 1,397 Votes on 1,294 Posts
Good idea. You can actually use a piece of regular duct work. Cut your new hole for the duct box. Cut a hole in the end of the existing box and run the line thru it.

8x8x7 side outlet duct box
 
  #12  
Old 01-27-21, 12:55 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 83
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Sometimes the simplest solution is best. Thanks for the help.


 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: