A/C unit not running


  #1  
Old 04-05-21, 10:43 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C unit not running

Need Help With A Medallion Nordyne AC Unit Model MT5BD-036K 3TON not turning on but blower and thermostat runs inside
 
  #2  
Old 04-05-21, 03:27 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,104
Received 112 Votes on 106 Posts
Fire thing to check would be a call for cooling at the condenser. And to check for power at the contactor.
 
  #3  
Old 04-05-21, 06:17 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Contactor does not have 240 volts going to it checked 30amp breaker and has no voltage is the breaker bad?. Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 04-05-21, 07:25 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,104
Received 112 Votes on 106 Posts
Breaker is probably tripped. Reset it. May be an electrical issue causing the trip like a grounded compressor.
 
  #5  
Old 04-05-21, 08:01 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Breaker not tripped just no voltage going to the breaker
 
  #6  
Old 04-06-21, 06:35 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,029
Received 22 Votes on 18 Posts
IS the breaker on a sub panel? Does the sub panel have power? If the panel has power but the breaker has no power coming out, replace the breaker.
 
  #7  
Old 04-06-21, 07:22 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is the meter box thats attached to the house and has a main power switch and a switch for the ac unit. Will change breaker and hope that is what it is thanks....
 
  #8  
Old 04-08-21, 04:20 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the fan is blowing, but the air seems warm or just not cool, check to see if your thermostat is set to “on” or “auto”. If it’s set to “on”, that means that the fan will stay on all the time, even when your air conditioner isn’t actually cooling your home.
This setting helps circulate air throughout your home but can lead people to think that their AC is blowing warm air (and also use much more energy). Change your thermostat to “auto” if it’s currently set to “on” to avoid this.
 
  #9  
Old 04-11-21, 03:16 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Changed breaker and now have 240v going to contactor but it still won't run. I push the plunger in and nothing happens now. Please help thanks!.
 
  #10  
Old 04-11-21, 04:35 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,104
Received 112 Votes on 106 Posts
You have verified 208/240V to the line side of the contactor?
 
  #11  
Old 04-11-21, 07:08 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes it has 240 volts and now when i pushed the plunger the fan started turning slow and then the coil smoked so now the contactor is bad......
 
  #12  
Old 04-11-21, 08:35 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,104
Received 112 Votes on 106 Posts
Pushing in the contactor shouldn’t have caused any damage. You have other issues going on with your system.
What is the coil voltage? What is load side voltage? Does anything read shorted or grounded?
 
  #13  
Old 04-12-21, 08:28 AM
I
Member
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 49
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
When smoke comes out of a 240 v. A/C device, and you don't know why, it is time to consult an HVAC service person, not an internet expert.

I have years of experience wiring houses to code, and I could probably diagnose and fix a similar problem if it happened to me. But I wouldn't do it, and I certainly wouldn't advise someone on line to do that. I'd call for help of the paid/licensed/insured variety.

Not to mention that the service person probably has access to factory diagnostics, equipment, parts, and probably a hotline number to call for help.
 

Last edited by I Mullins; 04-12-21 at 09:02 AM.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: