Removing Nest - How to re-wire?!


  #1  
Old 01-13-22, 10:35 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 3
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Removing Nest - How to re-wire?!

We are removing a Nest and replacing with a simple thermostat.

I thought I had it correct but Im not getting anything to turn on. Neither heat, cool, or fan set to on

This Nest was installed prior to me moving in so I have no previous history.

System is central a/c (Amaa) and gas furnace with Lennox evaporator coils.

Here is the previous installation of Nest wiring at thermostat.

here is the wiring info for the new thermostat, Emerson 1C26-101

I found the heat anticipator setting to be 0.7a and set the new thermostat accordingly.

currently have following:
green wire to G
yellow wire to Y
red wire to RH
white wire to W
jumper between RH and RC
blue wire - not in use


Heat anticipator set to 0.7a as per label on Amana unit in the attic



New thermostat current wiring



Wiring diagram details for new thermostat (Emerson 1C26-101)



Nest installation. There is a blue wire tucked in behind this which was not connected.



wiring at Amana unit in the attic
 

Last edited by aragno; 01-13-22 at 11:05 AM. Reason: correct photo for Amana wiring in the attic
  #2  
Old 01-13-22, 10:43 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,092
Received 3,607 Upvotes on 3,234 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Looking at the nest thermostat with current working wiring..... the wiring doesn't match the control board.
Your stat has white on W1 which is usually correct but no white appears at the furnace from the stat.
At the furnace you have the blue wire on W1.

The red on Y and the white on C look like from the A/C condenser.
 
aragno voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 01-13-22, 11:07 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 3
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
@Pjmax

I have updated the photo to the correct wiring at the Amana unit.
The initial photo was for the Amana cooling the upstairs. I am working on the downstairs thermostat.

See if this makes better sense about where I may have gotten this wrong or what I can do to get this correct and operating.
 
  #4  
Old 01-13-22, 11:40 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,092
Received 3,607 Upvotes on 3,234 Posts
The green wire on Y and the white wire on C go to the outside condenser.

I can't see the letters on the stat but it sounds like you have it connected correctly.
That's a mechanical stat. No programming.
Did you put the screws all the way in that hold the stat to the base ?

Try jumpering red to green. Does the blower start ?
If it doesn't... there is a problem at the air handler.
 
  #5  
Old 01-13-22, 01:57 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,606
Received 71 Upvotes on 62 Posts
To add to what Pete said, if jumpering the red & green wires doesn't turn it on, it's possible that you may be missing the 24VAC (R to C). Did you turn off the power to the air handler before disconnecting the wires? If you didn't, the Red (24VAC) may have momentarily been shorted to the common, either blowing the fuse or possibly the transformer.
 
  #6  
Old 01-13-22, 03:02 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 3
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hi, everyone!

First, this group is amazing and I hope I can learn a few things.

I figured out my problem. I had power (tested this with my multi-meter) but also touched the red and green wire.
I had the access panel on the air handler off, and there is a switch located there and this was preventing things from turning "on."

Put on the doors/panels and Voila! she worked!
 
  #7  
Old 01-13-22, 03:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,092
Received 3,607 Upvotes on 3,234 Posts
Yup... the safety switch will do it. Good everything is working now.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: