Should I bypass thermostat on window unit?


  #1  
Old 06-28-22, 04:40 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Should I bypass thermostat on window unit?

Iíve got a brand new Toshiba window unit that cycles on/off about every 15 minutes throughout the night, regardless of how low I set the target temp (Iím not sure I believe that my room has ever reached 62*, but the unit still shuts off pretty regularly). Itís loud, so the cycling is actually waking my wife and me up when it happens.

Some years ago we had a unit that had no thermostat, only various levels of fan speed and we would run it all night, serving as a cooling device and a white noise machine. Iím tempted to bypass the thermostat in the new unit to achieve a similar result. It was under $300 and the life of the unit isnít a big deal, so Iím not worried about burning up any components. Is this feasible? Should I just be searching for a different unit instead?
 
  #2  
Old 06-28-22, 05:02 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 26,804
Received 1,952 Upvotes on 1,748 Posts
If you turn your AC all the way down to the coldest setting does it run continuously? If it does then running an external thermostat is easy. You can use a simple one in the cord and they can be bought for about $50.

If the unit still turns off regularly you've got to wonder why? Is there a timer in the controls so it pauses every 15 min to get a more accurate temperature reading or is something overheating? Either way bypassing the thermostat will get quite involved since all the controls are probably built onto one circuit board and may be difficult to remove without bricking the unit.
 
  #3  
Old 06-28-22, 07:11 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unfortunately, no, it does not run continuously if I set the target temp to an extremely low value, but thatís exactly what Iím hoping to achieve. Basically I want to be able to turn ďon - coolĒ and have it run until I turn it off.

As for why, Iím really not sure. Itís properly leveled, well ventilated on the exhaust side, throughly sealed at the window and unobstructed in the front. AND brand new! I could try to exchange units, but the 15-20 minute cycle time sounds similar to what Iíve heard for central A/C, so Iím not sure anything is ďwrongĒ.

The simplest answer might be to swap for a different model with different controls, but Iím struggling to find any others that are likely to behave differently than this one.
 
  #4  
Old 06-28-22, 12:08 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,407
Upvotes: 0
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Something wrong, no AC should have a fixed 15 minute on/off timer, they should be all based on the temp setting. As mentioned, may be overheating.
 
  #5  
Old 06-28-22, 12:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,113
Received 3,610 Upvotes on 3,236 Posts
Probably not overheating.
It may have a programmed compressor shut down for defrosting.

You may want an A/C where it shows energy saver setting and then not use it.
Energy saver turns the fan and compressor on and off together.
Energy saver off cycles the compressor but keeps the fan running.
 
  #6  
Old 06-30-22, 03:32 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Back to bring this thread to conclusion - it was ďeco modeĒ! I wouldíve gotten there eventually, but thanks to your suggestion, I toyed with that setting and the unit ran through the night.

Surprising that eco mode shuts down both the fan and compressor, but at least Iím glad to now have a better understanding.
 
  #7  
Old 06-30-22, 09:17 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,113
Received 3,610 Upvotes on 3,236 Posts
Energy saver = economy mode

 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: