Help me understand capacitors…I don’t have a run capacitor


  #1  
Old 06-05-24, 03:27 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 418
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Help me understand capacitors…I don’t have a run capacitor

My AC unit seems to have a hard start kit which has a small capacitor and it has a 45uf capacitor for the compressor. Is it because it’s an ECM?

These are the only two in the system. Why don’t I have a dedicated fan capacitor, or a dual run capacitor wired up somehow?
 
  #2  
Old 06-05-24, 04:08 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,654
Received 90 Upvotes on 79 Posts
The condenser (outside unit) typically uses either a dual capacitor or two separate capacitors, one for the compressor, the other for the fan motor. If the air handler (inside) uses a PSC motor, it will have a capacitor. If the air handler has an ECM for the blower, there will no capacitor, since ECM's don't use a capacitor.
 
  #3  
Old 06-05-24, 05:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,985
Received 4,152 Upvotes on 3,729 Posts
It's possible to have an ECM condenser fan on a higher end condenser.
Post the model number off the condenser.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: