Any Programs for Making Remodel Plans

Old 05-11-15, 02:29 PM
H
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Any Programs for Making Remodel Plans

I'm starting out on a new kitchen remodel. I intend to do this right and obtain full permits for everything I was told I need to make drawings and provide measurements for the whole house.

i'm a terrible artist and have no idea how to start, except by getting some graph paper and start measuring and drawing. I figure theres got to be some computer programs you folks use that aren't expensve or maybe free.

anyone?

Old 05-11-15, 02:50 PM
Super Moderator
Received 78 Upvotes on 70 Posts
AFAIK , and in my area on the east cost, you need to submit drawings with the permits of the work that will be performed.

Example I submitted these plumbing, electric, and fixture layouts for an upstairs bath I dormered out..

I found the plumbing.

[IMG][/IMG]

I cant find the electric.. Here is another type for additional plumbing from the other view, and you would use the same for electric with fixtures and such in the proper locations.

[IMG][/IMG]

I use visio, but its not free..

Old 05-11-15, 03:15 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 720 Upvotes on 631 Posts
I'm no artist either but never thought that drawing floor plans was difficult since you're using a ruler and drawing everything to scale. They even make templates to draw in plumbing and other fixtures.

Many but not all permit offices require detailed drawings, it all depends on how strict/lax your particular office is. IMO paper, pencil and ruler is easier than computer software but then I am a low tech guy

Old 05-11-15, 03:26 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts