For Resercon (and anyone else)

Old 03-22-03, 04:02 AM
B
Received 9 Upvotes on 9 Posts
For Resercon (and anyone else)

I was very interested ion your response to C Grover in the thread about moisture, mold and Dricore. My house here in Minnesota is about 50 years old and over the next 3 or 4 years (money permitting) I intend to re-side my house with fiber cement siding and install new windows. I should also say that I am an architect, so I know the basics of what you said and what was said on the website you referenced, but I do strictly commercial and industrial design, so I don't get into the real details of residential design.

My concern with the work I am planning is that I am going to really tighten up the house. Right now its pretty loose and I don't have any mold or indoor air quality problems that I know of. I've already done what I can so far: dump A-coil drain and dehumidifier drain into a floor drain; taped kitchen, bath, and dryer exhaust piping joints; and so on.

I'm thinking I will install an air exchanger so I can still get air changes that my leaky windows now provide. Any other measures that you think would be adviseable?

To complicate my plans, this winter my wife and mother in law (who lives with us) decided they wanted a humidifier. I was able to talk them out of it for the remainder of this winter, but don't know about next winter. At the very least, it seems to me that the air exchanger and humidifier would battle each other.