Replace Basement Windows

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-12-04, 10:41 AM
varzeafamily
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Replace Basement Windows

Hello all;

I'm looking to replace my basement windows (but have never done this). It's a cinder block foundation and the existing windows are a standard size (sounds simple so far doesn't it). They seem to be mortared in (the previous owner did these himself) and they are in pretty horrible condition (to be read "in the Winter it's freezing and in the summer I get little critters"). At any rate - what I'm looking for is this. When I buy new windows (vinyl) can I just screw them into the foundation using Tapcon screws and then seal around the window or am I better off doing something else.

Again - I know I can do this - I just don't have a clue as to how ....

Thanks for the help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-13-04, 11:16 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Not sure just what you have there. But you can put them in anyway you want. Like some basement windows have like a steel frame that is set in the blocks you might have to take that out.Yes you can reset a window like you say . You dont say if they go up to the sill plate. might look at that and see that no load on it.


ED
 
  #3  
Old 05-13-04, 01:32 PM
varzeafamily
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks ...

Thanks for the reply Ed...

From what I can see the window (and it's frame) is not set into the blocks it is literally mortered in - in other words remove the mortar and you can push the window (and it's frame) right out - so there is no load on it. I really just wanted to know if in replacing the window I would be better served to build a wood frame into which I could screw the replacement window into or if I should just (using the appropriate type of screws just screw into the cinder blocks). Again thanks.

Eddie V.
 
  #4  
Old 05-13-04, 01:54 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Its more in what you want to do later on to the the walls and windows. You could box it in first with say a 2X8 then put the window in. This would let you drywall a return into the window from the inside walls . So its what you want to do with it .


ED
 
  #5  
Old 05-14-04, 07:08 AM
varzeafamily
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks again...

Thanks again... I hadn't thought about the finishing aspect of it (but then that's why you're the moderator - and I'm the one asking the question ).

Enjoy your weekend!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: