Excavating&Installing New Basement

Old 12-26-04, 09:07 AM
Moishe3rd
Visiting Guest
Excavating&Installing New Basement

Well, here's the thing:
I want to put an addition on to my house.
I am capable of doing most of the work myself.
However, I am looking for innovative or new ways to keep costs down without violating code and to make things easier for me on those things I have never done before.
For instance:
Excavating the new basement.
I can rent a mini shovel / excavation machine (I forget what its called, but my friendly rental place has one and they tell me it will do the job), and dig out the new basement. But, I have never done this before, so, is that the best way to go in terms of cost and convenience?
I can dig out and pour the concrete footings - but, again, I never poured footing for an 20 x 40 addition before, only basic 42" frost footings for support posts for additions. Is there a secret here I don't know.
Then, I get into the best way to form the walls.
I could lay block, but it would take me awhile and I'm not as young as I used to be.
I could buy the pink insulation forms and pour concrete, but is that actually more expensive?
I could do the whole thing in green treated foundation plywood because I understand wood, but does green treat really work and is it going to be cheaper than concrete or block?

Now as I continue upwards from the 2x6 framing to the trusses and laminate beams to the sheathing, etcetera, all of which I have done and understand better than the foundation, I am trying to research what is new? Inexpensive? Convenient? Things I do not know about. Any ideas?

Sponsored Links
Old 12-26-04, 01:57 PM
darren_1974
Visiting Guest
I have some pics that might help give you an idea of whats involved http://members.shaw.ca/hackers/pics1.html

Old 12-26-04, 03:30 PM
Moishe3rd
Visiting Guest
Outstanding pictures.
But, unfortunately, they don't really tell me what I am trying to figure out.
Are you a professional at cinder block laying?