perimeter drains

Old 02-11-05, 07:04 AM
ann1
Visiting Guest
perimeter drains

My basement floor is 1" below the footing of my house. Water leaks between the footing and the wall and onto the floor. It's been recommended that I have a perimeter drain system installed. One person wants to cut the footing on a diagonal to make the water drain into the system and another says never to cut, it could cause instability etc., and to use a barrier material from the wall over the footing into the drain. Any comments on cutting the footing or not? or any other suggestions?

Old 02-11-05, 07:15 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
ann1, Welcome to the DIY Forums.
First let me say, I am not an expert on this subject. I have never heard of cutting a footing though and would be a little hesitant on doing so. You may be able to contact your local Building code office and get their opinion on this.
Watch this post for more informative information. We do have experts that can shed some light on the subject. Good luck.

Old 02-11-05, 08:54 PM
M
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
basement floor

It is very unusual to have a base. slab below the footing. The slab floor is

actually a structural component of the house, keeping the lower walls of

the basement from collapsing inward, over the top of the slab floor. Unless

this is a very old house with very thick stone walls, water on the floor could

be the least of your problems. If you have poured or block base. walls and

you have 1'' of soil exposed between the footing (which is below the

foundation wall) and the slab, I would consult a structural repair contractor

or a qualified engineer.

Old 02-16-05, 10:01 AM
mjdonovan
Visiting Guest
Put in the Perimeter Drain and raise the floor in your basement

First, though I am know expert on foundation walls and footings, I would highly suggest that you do not cut the Footings as this is the structural base of the house.