Sound-proofing in basement

Old 10-18-06, 01:37 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sound-proofing in basement

I will be finishing my basement and the media room will be right under the master bedroom. What is the best material to use in the ceiling to deaden some of the sound?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-19-06, 08:47 AM
I'm no expert in accoustics, but here's what I'm doing.

I purchased "Isomax" clips and will be installing on the bottom of the joists along with drywall furring channel. This isolates noise transmission through the joists. Additionally, I'll be installing fiberglass batt insulation between the drywall and flooring above.

Here's a link to Kinetics Isomax:
http://www.kineticsnoise.com/arch/isomax/index.html

I've also read that installing two layers of drywall will help reduce noise tranmission further, but I don't plan on doing that.

Hope this helps!

Old 10-19-06, 02:06 PM
No here expert either, but there ARE plenty of experts here....

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forumdisplay.php?f=19

Click on this link and read the sticky "Acouctical Treatments master thread."

Good luck,
Tom

Old 10-19-06, 02:46 PM
Thanks

Thanks for the info. Let us know if you think those Kinetics clips work.

btw - Those guys at the 'AVSForum' get prety technical!

Old 10-23-06, 07:30 AM
I'm probably 2 to 3 months away from drywall, so I won't be able to tell how well the Isomax clips worked till then, but I'll let you know.

I only get about 4 hours a week to work on my basement, so it's taking me forever, but I'm getting there! The framing is just about done, and I've purchased the can lights and begining the electrical.

Menards delivered the Dricore subfloor and doors on Saturday. I'm not ready for either, but they had a good sale, so I bought them

I had a plumber do the rough plumbing for the wet bar and half bath and that has inspired me to keep plugging along!

Best of luck to you. Enjoy your work!

Old 10-23-06, 07:56 AM
Ron: