Cleaning Efflorescence.. Wire brush only?

Old 11-26-07, 07:04 PM
Cleaning Efflorescence.. Wire brush only?

Hello,

I am a homeowner 'newbie' and am looking to drylok my basement. It is 'dry' in a sense there is no sump pump, no water penetration, etc. I have lived there for 4 years and the house is 20 years old. I do see some white efflorescence on the wall. Can I just use a wire brush to clean or do I need drylok etch, which I purchased, to clean? I read the instructions and am a little nervous on using. I am new to all of this and am afraid to or buring myself... Also, is it hard to use drylok? I had estimates on doing my basement, and most wer $500.. I can save that if I do it myself but since I don't know what I am really doing, will I cause more issues or not apply correctly resulting in wasting money and possible water seapage down the road?

Thank you!

Sponsored Links
Old 11-26-07, 07:27 PM
Wire brush will be fine! I would use a stiff broom. It will go a lot faster and
I don't think it will be over kill like the wire brush. Buy a thick roller and you will be fine.
--

Old 11-26-07, 07:42 PM
Hi Airman! Thanks fo your reply. Have you ever sed Drylok? Is it easy to apply? I wa just reading something on RandonSeal. I acually posted a new thread on it... Do you know anything about that? My radon levels are around 6. If Radon seal can reduce radon levels and can provide water penetration protection, that sounds like the way to go?

Old 11-27-07, 03:45 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
I've never used Radon Seal.
Drylok isn't all that difficult to apply. The main thing is to apply a thick wet coat. You need to fill all the pores in the block/concrete. The easiest way to apply drylok is to slop it on the wall, smearing it into the wall and then gently go over the area with a dry roller to dress it up.

Old 11-27-07, 10:53 AM
is there any other 'safer' cleaners to use other then muratic acid or drylk etch? i do have efforesence but it is not that bad. Somone mentioned TSP?