Replacing basement windows

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-10-08, 10:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jackson, NJ
Posts: 437
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing basement windows

House is 7 years old, poured concrete foundation with a metal window frame inside to outside. Window is a tilt-in that slips into the metal frame. I assume I would have to remove the entire metal frame to properly replace the window? Seems if I did that the rough opening would accomodate a 32X19.5 window. Can the Slip-in windows, such as Tuf-n-lite brand, be used for ease of installation? I know HD sells sliding windows in that same dimension, but don't know if the replacement window will fill the 4" thick concrete wall from inside to outside. Does it have to fill out this dimension?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-11-08, 03:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wilmington
Posts: 4,219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Most vinyl basement windows are available built to the 1/4". If the metal frames are in good condition, I usually leave them in place and butt the window against them(measuered to fit). Then screw the frames into the concrete/block with tapcons, and foam around the frame for an air tight seal. This saves time, and time is money if you are charging for your services. If the old frame is too rusty, it much be cut/chipped out of the concrete, and the window sized for the new, larger opening. Obviously, you need to know which you are going to do before ordering the windows, and measure carefully. Enlarging an opening in poured concrete is not easy.
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-08, 06:28 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 272
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did basically the same thing but framed out the opening using a ramset becasue the concrete was too hard to drill and tapcon into. Then measure the new opening and ordered windows to that size and it was easier to then attach to the new wood frames.

Good luck,
Tom
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-08, 02:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wilmington
Posts: 4,219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just a note, drilling concrete requires a hammer drill or more, a standard drill will not do the job, even with a good masonary bit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: