Return/Supply Vent

Old 03-06-08, 10:41 AM
Return/Supply Vent

Our house has a finished basement. It has air vents bringing in heat/air conditioning, but it does not have any return/supply vents. Are these needed and if so, how can I go about putting them? Our basement is about 700 square feet.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-06-08, 12:20 PM
you probably don't need them. The return air can come up the stairwell, unless you keep that door closed. Also, if your AC/heater is in the basement, you can partially open the return door letting in the basement air.

Old 03-06-08, 01:43 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Where is your air handler? If in the basement, you can install a return in one of the walls adjacent to the return ducting, with a drop down filter, and have adequate return. Have the return size match the supply combined sized so your cfm won't get out of whack.

Old 03-06-08, 04:31 PM
Thank you both for your response. I am a novice at this type of thing, so please bear with me.

We do leave our basement door open, so that is good news that it shouldn't be a problem.

All the ductwork is run from our basement. The air conditioner is outside. We have two furnaces to heat our 4,000 square feet home (not including basement). The furnaces are located in the basement and are enclosed.

rpatzer: I am not sure what you mean regarding partially opening the return door. Is this the venting ducts where the filter is located? If I open the return door, would it work even though the furnace area is enclosed?

chandler: I am not sure what an air handler is. Can you please specify? Is this the same thing rpatzer refer to? I think I understand what you are saying regarding installing the return. However, how would I know how to match the return and supply size? We have three vents giving out heat/air conditioning. So does that mean that I need 3 supply vents too?

Sorry to be so dense, but a lot of lingo that I don't understand. Thanks so much!

Old 03-07-08, 03:49 AM