Attic Fan or Turbine vents??

Old 04-23-08, 07:23 AM
E
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Attic Fan or Turbine vents??

My mom lives in a small condo community that's fairly new. (2-3yrs). These are ranch condos 3 units per building with firewalls in-between each unit.
When she moved in, one of the builder's handymen installed an attic fan for her as did a few other residents based on some inspector's suggestions and feedback from friends. It gets really hot in the attic during Georgia summers and it's set on a thermostat and really seemed to help her cooling bills last summer.
Anyway, long story short--at the last HOA meeting, one of her follow residents said he had a roofing friend suggest the community spend the money to install "vents" in each building (2 per I believe) that run on turbines? (I'm not too technical but I think that was the term). He said, his friend told him attic fans are worthless and do more damage to a roof and reduces the life expectancy, than these vents. That you can't run both. It's either one or the other. Well, naturally the few folks who had attic fans installed like my mom are not happy and feel this "friend" is wrong about these vents. I would appreciate any input about one versus the other. Growing up, we had attic fans and I never recall my family having any roof issues.
Any thoughts?? thanks!!

Old 04-23-08, 08:37 AM
R
Interesting- I take it you now don't have turbines, just the attic fans. You would probably benefit more with the wind driven turbines than the attic fans. It is costing you to run the attic fans.