Wall bowing and foundation repair.

Old 04-27-08, 09:07 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

I'm a first time home buyer so I have little experience. If this sounds like a whine or whimper, please excuse it.

I'm pursuing a house that was built in 54. The basement is largely finished with wood paneling and a suspended ceiling. The basement was a big consideration because it's 11 course and would easily accommodate my home gym, power rack and overhead pressing. The house is also very budget orientated and is in a pretty decent neighborhood, so those were also big considerations as it will leave me with end-of-month money to throw into remodeling. The house is in good condition, though it needs updating in all rooms and the garage needs to be demolished and rebuilt sometime in the next seven years.

The inspector couldn't check the entire basement due to the paneling, but what he did find:

The west wall, about 1/3 out from the corner is bowed 1 1/4" (qualifies as a major structural defect) and the north wall, about 1/4 out from the NW corner is bowed 3/4" and has a good sized horizontal crack. He couldn't trace the crack all the way due to paneling along the wall.

Some seepage indicators in the NW and SW corners.

The inspector thinks the bowing occurred in the first 20 yrs of the house's existence because there is patching and paint work on the west wall that appears rather old and the wall doesn't seem to have moved since. There appears to be a gully of sorts between this house the the one to the west, and some bricks placed along the west wall outside.

The sellers, who are POA for their mother's house, have offered to set up an escrow account in the amount of 1 1/2 time the repair estimate to fix the basement, after the sale.