Radon pvc pipe in my basement

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-27-08, 06:38 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Radon pvc pipe in my basement

I am in the process of finishing my basement when I realized I was about to cover the PVC pipe that my builder installed in case of a future problems. I want to extend this to my sump pump room, but I already ran 2x3's across the ceiling joisit. Can I use a flexable pipe or does it have to be PVC. If it is PVC I will have to lower the 2x3's. Thanks for any help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-28-08, 04:38 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
I don't under stand this should not be open! This should run up and into the attic and out the roof. Could this be something else.
 
  #3  
Old 05-28-08, 12:15 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When I bought the house the builder told me that it was for radon testing. He said that they didn't have to do any testing but they install it. It runs from basement to the roof but I am not sure if it is caped off.
 
  #4  
Old 05-28-08, 12:17 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Ok I understand! Is there a need to run it to another room.
 
  #5  
Old 05-28-08, 12:50 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can I use something flexable or do I have to use PVC. If I use PVC I will need to remove the framing for the joisit.
 
  #6  
Old 05-28-08, 03:53 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Why do you need it to go to the other room? Is the radon bad in that room? The pipe will be under a negative all the time PVC is the best choice.
 
  #7  
Old 05-28-08, 04:09 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I currently have no radon problems but when my basement is finished the dry wall ceiling will block the pipe. So I thought I should run a extention on it to another part of the basement which will remain unfinished which is also my sump pump room.
 
  #8  
Old 05-28-08, 06:17 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Is this pipe running into the concrete floor? or stopping at the ceiling?
 
  #9  
Old 05-29-08, 10:19 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Its stop at basement ceiling. The other end I think goes to the roof.
 
  #10  
Old 05-29-08, 11:29 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
So its not in use! Id just cover it up and remember where it is if you ever have a radon problem.
 
  #11  
Old 05-30-08, 04:22 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think that might be the easiest thing to do, but I am concerned that if there is a problem in the future that it might be expensive to do after basement is finished.
 
  #12  
Old 05-31-08, 03:54 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
That pipe should run straight down and go under the slab. So no more cost now verses latter.
 
  #13  
Old 05-31-08, 11:52 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will leave it alone and will keep my crossed.Thanks
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: