Attic stairs in house with roof trusses

Old 07-06-09, 04:37 PM
J
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Attic stairs in house with roof trusses

Hello all,

I have a 1965 house with roof trusses (must have been re-done at some point in the recent past). I currently have a set of fold down attic stairs in the garage but I'd like to add another set to the other side of the house in a hallway. I'm assuming that one of the ceiling joists (which is part of the roof truss) will be smack dab in the center of the opening I need to make for the stairs. I'm usually just that lucky.

I've heard that cutting into roof trusses is a big no-no and requires a professional. I have an engineering degree so I have a pretty good understanding of what I'm doing, though I suspect most of what I know won't apply here (much the same way that what an electrical engineer knows won't apply to AC wiring in a home). I'm guessing there is a special, industry-accepted way to do this, but I just don't know what it is. Can anyone offer some sage advice?

Thanks a million!

- Joe

EDIT: The roof trusses in question are king-post roof trusses

Sponsored Links
Old 07-06-09, 04:55 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Joe, most likely the trusses are running across your hallway, and, therefore, would be supported on both sides by the walls themselves. That in itself would allow you to remove the lower chord on one of the trusses, replace it with bridging the size of the opening required by your stair choice. It is very important that complete bridging takes place on all sides of the opening, and is tied to the joisting and any of the kings that come into that area. You'd just have to look to see if that is the case in your situation. Let us know after you crawl up in the hot attic and see what 's there.

Old 07-06-09, 05:05 PM
J
Hi Chandler,