Attic Venting

Old 02-01-10, 07:23 PM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Attic Venting

Hey guys, well here's my first post, My lady and I have recently bought our first home, the price was right as it was a fixxer upper.

The inspector had been in the attic and informed us there was no venting, the hood vent on stove comes into the attic just past the insulation, the bathroom vent goes knowhere, no gable vents or soffit vents. Well a couple months later on the west coast of Vancouver Island I finally got in there and it was looking pretty rough, the ceiling is pretty black and grey mold is forming in patches.

I'm gonna vent the stove tomorrow and bring it out the side of the roof, planning on installing some gable vents. The sofits are closed up with wood panneling and I plan to drill holes and place in a few circular vents. I'm new to all this, and just wondering If I'm on the right track.. I want to get all these vents in and see If it clears up in the next month, also hoping this mold isn't harming us as I have my pregnant lady in the house... This is just one of the many fix's the house needs.

Thanks

Dylan

Old 02-01-10, 07:42 PM
B
Received 47 Upvotes on 43 Posts
Hi dillbike and welcome to the forum,
fortunately the air in the attic should be leaking out and not back into the house and the venting will help that process.

General venting guidelines are one sq. ft. of vent area for every 150 sq, ft of attic floor. Distribute thar 50/50 upper and lower areas. A big however though. That is the number for a well air sealed attic. If the leaks into the attic are not well sealed, that venting area should be increased. Now, here is the good news. Air sealing is relatively easy, reduces the amount of venting needed, and saves on heating costs. It's a win win for sure.