Attic Is Open To Garage

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-01-10, 06:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Coppell, Tx
Posts: 28
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Attic Is Open To Garage

We bought our house 2 years ago and I have a question about the attic. The house has the original garage converted to a room and another garage was adde on to the back of that room.

Where the original edge of the house was it is now open to the new garage. There is just some chicken wire up so I guess animals cant' get in. My question is shoudl I seal up the attic that goes into the garage? I'm not sure if the attic is efficient with the opening to the hot garage.

Thanks for the help guys.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-01-10, 07:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 10,392
Received 20 Votes on 18 Posts
Because a garage can have cars running it, it needs to be sealed from the rest of the house, some also require a fire rated barrier, like 1/2" sheetrock. Venting and air sealing the rest of the house are a different matters. Be sure to check your local codes.

Bud
 
  #3  
Old 08-01-10, 07:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Coppell, Tx
Posts: 28
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well this is being violated....

26. A fire separation must not have open areas between the house and an attached garage, except as listed:

a. Doors to the dwelling must be self-closing, solid core 1-3/8-inch wood or 20-minute fire-rated.
 
  #4  
Old 08-02-10, 03:27 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Treyprice, I believe section 26 will apply to the main floor area. You can't impede the movement of firefighters between the two attic areas. That is, if I am reading correctly, that we are talking about two cojoined attic spaces. If the opening in the house opens in the main garage area, then, by all means, it must be sealed up.
 
  #5  
Old 08-02-10, 06:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Coppell, Tx
Posts: 28
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So what is the best way to fill this in? Should i get some plywood and place it across the studs and then put 1/2" drywall over it?
 
  #6  
Old 08-04-10, 03:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wilmington
Posts: 4,219
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Definitely not plywood. It must be firecode drywall(5/8 firecode), with no unsealed opening between spaces. Seal any gaps with fire code material.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: