Mortar between block foundation & house

Old 09-08-10, 05:53 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Mortar between block foundation & house

Hello,

I have a house with a cinder block foundation. The line of mortar at the top of the foundation has dried up and is breaking off in pieces. (creating easy access for mice) I have temporarily sprayed some foam into the gap but would like to seal it up more permanently. What would be the best material to use? Are any of the caulk-gun mortars you can get at the home improvement stores worth using, or should I use something else? The gap is pretty wide in some spots.

Thanks for any advice!
Sue
Ithaca, NY

Old 09-08-10, 07:30 PM
Received 54 Upvotes on 48 Posts
I am not an expert on this, but, I think I would try the caulk-like crack filler for concrete. It also comes in a caulking tube and I would think, since it is somewhat flexible, it would work well.

Old 09-09-10, 04:59 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Yeah, I agree with Ben, get rid of the spray foam. It will degrade with sunlight anyway. The concrete crack filler will expand a little once it gets in the crack and will remain a little pliable.

Old 09-09-10, 07:33 AM
S
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks! I wasn't going to get rid of the spray foam, but cut it back a bit and put the concrete filler on top. I was thinking that part of the reason the old mortar dried out was because of the air behind it and having the foam there will help insulate it. Or am I completely off base?

So ideally I end up with mortar going between the cinder block and the house, and resting on top of the foam.

Old 09-09-10, 04:07 PM
Received 54 Upvotes on 48 Posts