Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Sealing up foundation vents?

KY

05-08-12, 01:49 PM   #1 (permalink)  
Sealing up foundation vents?

It seems like "conventional wisdom" is changing out there to the point where it is no longer recommended to install foundation vents around your house. Evidently, thinking that the vents increased air circulation and therefore helped dry things out, all they do is allow the humid air in. I live in KY, so humidity can be a huge problem during the summer months.

What do you guys think?

I have a house that already has foundation vents. How would you guys propose to seal them up? What would you use?

Sponsored Links

DE

05-08-12, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)  
I am not an expert is this area, but sealing up crawl spaces without sealing the crawl space, allows moisture into the space with no where to go. The result is mold, rot, etc. I don't think you can seal a crawl space well enough to say there will be no more moisture. I say, keep the vents!!

Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation

GA

05-08-12, 05:00 PM   #3 (permalink)  
whitenack, you have reopened a pandora's box of comments that will leave you scratching your head. In certain areas of the country, sealing up the crawl, and air condition it is the fad. I say "fad" because it doesn't address the problem sensibly, IMO. I am of the same opinion as JustBill. However, I live in the south and we must, under our codes install foundation venting. The vents introduce and expel air, and it doesn't get stale, moldy, wet, etc.
Who wants to air condition their unused crawlspace, anyway??
OK, Airman, you're at bat!!!

NM

05-08-12, 05:53 PM   #4 (permalink)