Basement I Beam in a New Home

Old 08-16-12, 11:34 AM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Basement I Beam in a New Home

Hey guys. It's been a long time since I posted on these forums. My question today regards a basement I beam for a house I may purchase. I met with the builder to go over a few things and this kinda jumped out at me. The foundation is block and has notches on both sides to accept an I beam. However, only one side is installed in that fashion. The other side is supported by what appears to be 6-8 2x4s laminated into a column. In the center of this spam is a loli column. New house... never lived in. I asked the builder why he didn't just extend the beam another 2 foot to the other foundation notch. He said "oh, we just decided to cut it off here." Hrm. If I do purchase, I will most definitely get an inspection... but I'm just wondering if anyone has ever seen one side of a beam supported by the foundation and the other not. Disclaimer: I'm no pro so this may be a dumb question.

Thanks in advance guys.

Old 08-16-12, 11:37 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,262 Upvotes on 1,203 Posts
I don't like the sound of this or the builder's answer. What else did he 'decide' to do in similar fashion?

Old 08-16-12, 11:49 AM
S
That's the only structural thing that jumped out. There is, however, a pipe buried below the back yard that begins at the streets storm water basin and exits on the vacant property beside mine. According to him, there neighborhood doesn't have enough lots sold/developed yet to tie into it's storm water system. Seemed extremely fishy to me. I contacted the township and I'm waiting for their response. Shame... hope both of these issues are on the "up and up." I really like the home.

I'll try to snag a pic of the beam in question.

Old 08-16-12, 02:36 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts