Vaulting A Ceiling

Old 02-17-01, 09:53 AM
LAJams
Visiting Guest
Question

I have a dormer-style home built back in the mid-late 1920s. It has a full second-story and an attic ( not used for anything). The old plaster ceiling in the 2nd story is looking pretty weak, and as part of our continuing renovation, we are considering pulling the plaster down and vaulting the ceiling up. I'm kinda new to this and I know there are some "parameters" in here, but I don't want to make this a 40 page book, so I'll try to keep it short:

The existing cieling-joists are 2x4s, running front-to-back, resting on top of the walls. The rafters at the roof are 2x4s, resting on the front-and-back walls. There appears to be eight 1x10s nailed to the peak of the rafters, dropping down and nailed the cieling-joists, spaced evenly (apparently supporting the tall peak of the roof).

What I'm considering doing is adding 2x4s (or maybe 4x4s?) to bring the cieling up about 4 feet, or-so, attaching to a 2x12 to form the top of the new ceiling. I would resupport the peak of the roof on the 2x12.

Like I said, I know there are some parameters in there and this is more simplistic than it is. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
Old 02-18-01, 07:27 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You have all the makings here of a big piece of mess. I would call in a contractor to look at it. You have alot of areas of very potential problems and only an on the site inspection by a contractor can tell you if this is reasonable. I am not sure if your building dept will even give you a permit for this work unless it is done by a professional.

Old 02-21-01, 10:51 AM
LAJams
Visiting Guest
Arrow RE: Vaulting A Ceiling

Thanks for the response Jack,