Lowering drywall ceiling?

Old 08-06-14, 08:15 PM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lowering drywall ceiling?

I have to run a gravity feed pipe above my ceiling from a saniflo upflush toilet. The distance requires a drop of 7".

I want to lower the ceiling flush with the ductwork to make the ceiling the same height throughout the kitchen area. This would give me 7ft ceilings which is code for a habitable space.

Though I have some knowledge of basic framing I am not sure the proper way (if there is indeed a proper way) to do this.

I plan on hanging 2x3's from the wall (with joist hangers) and running 2x3's parallel to and below each joist sistering a short 2x3 on the other end of the floor joist in L shape fashion to be used as a hanger.

I have attached an image of what I came up with to accomplish this. Please inform me if this is the correct way to do this.

Attached Images  
Old 08-07-14, 04:18 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 403 Votes on 359 Posts
I don't know that a 2x3 would be stiff enough where it won't sag [over time] from the weight of the drywall. The carpenters should be along later

Old 08-07-14, 01:01 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
What is the height of the ductwork? You need a minimum of 90" for headspace. Mark is right. You may can use a 2x3, but it will need bracing from the joists along the span in order to keep deflection at a minimum.

Old 08-07-14, 02:42 PM
R
Hi Chandler, The duct work is exactly 7ft at its lowest point.

I realize adding sheetrock is going to add to this. I got my information regarding height code here. http://www.mass.gov/eopss/docs/dps/i...ing-height.pdf . If I'm reading it correctly it states 7ft for habitable spaces and for Beams and girders ( I assume ductwork ) not more than six inches below the required ceiling height.

I may just have to create a soffit around the duct work just so the ceiling can be an inch or two higher :/

Old 08-07-14, 02:47 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator