Basement looks bad...but how bad?

Old 08-20-14, 01:04 PM
O
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Basement looks bad...but how bad?

Hello people. My wife and I are about to buy our first house. The one we liked has everything going for it, but the basement is a little scary. I dont have many pictures here (we dont officially own it yet), but can someone give me an opinion on whether or not this would be too much of an issue for a young family with a modest income?

My main goal is to make it a usable space for laundry. A fully finished basement is not on my list yet.

Things I have noticed:
- This house is in Delaware County in PA, so flooding is nearly unavoidable. But I saw like rust down there. Im not a pro, but I can guess that there was some major water issue at some point. It looks like a room from that Silent Hill movie.

- For some reason, the beam in one of the photos is painted only halfway up...hiding something maybe?

This is a bank owned property so there is no seller that can disclose anything about the history of this place. Any help is welcome. I have no friend that know about this stuff, so Internet, I turn to you.

Attached Images   
Old 08-20-14, 02:43 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I certainly would not buy it unless you are prepared for the likelihood it does leak quite a bit down there.

Old 08-20-14, 02:49 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Has far as finishing not a big issue but it there is water there could be a BIG problem

Old 08-20-14, 04:24 PM
J
go talk to the neighbours on each side of the house....houses with basements...ask them if their basements flood......they might know if this basement floods and how deep

look in the outlet boxes and conduit fittings at about 4 ft AFF.....
you should be able to tell if it has had standing water in the boxes or pipes

many basements need a sump pump 24/7.

do the neighbours have sump pumps

is their an outlet..location for a sump pump