Insulating basement walls - CT

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-30-14, 03:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Insulating basement walls - CT

i have been doing a lot of research on this and figured that other than spray foam insulation (too expensive) is to use rigid extruded poly boards. The catch is that code asks for R-15 and in order to get that (without using FG - no no in basements due to mold) is with a 2" and 1" boards of rigid foam. There doesn't seem to be anything on the market that is R-15.

Any ideas? Do I just glue the 2 boards together? One over the other?

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-30-14, 03:42 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That may depend on the rest of the plan. What I mean by that is if you intend to have everything up to code, finished basements are a funny bird when it comes to building codes. So, let's say that the insulation is up to code but you have a bedroom there which is against code almost everywhere, it won't matter. None of if may matter until you try to sell the house. Keep it all in mind as you proceed.
 
  #3  
Old 01-03-15, 06:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do you plan on attaching the foam board to the walls? If using mechanical fasteners, just run them through both boards back to back. I am surprised that R15 has to be code although I see that you are in CT.
So you're gonna have three inches of foam board to fasten? I'm in NJ and am using just the 2" R10
 
  #4  
Old 01-23-15, 10:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Churchville MD
Posts: 214
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Worried about that 3" just being too thick, or having to deal w/ layering it (e.g. taping seams twice)?

You could always put the 2" against the wall, then frame in front of it, then cut the 1" into 14.5" wide strips and put that in the joist space. yeah, kind of a pain but it will get the job done.
Assuming the 2" is sealed well, you can just stuff the second layer in there w/o it having to be a perfect seal, since its just there for insulation and not a vapor retardant (already handled by the outer layer).

Yeah a little surprised you're required to have R15 below grade.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: